Recap


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
December 21st 2005
Published: December 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ok well, I am now safely back home in San Jose, but dont' worry, I will recap the last month. So when i last left you, i was about to head down to Brighton. Well, I think that Brighton, despite being the gay capital of England and therefore Europe, is my favorite town in England. Of course I love London, but Brighton was so great. Could it be due to the fact that I arrived on a Thursday and the very next night conveniantly, a local club was having a Morrissey tribute night? SO glorious. And at this club they even had play-doh for people to create their own version of Morrissey. I won't go into detail about some of the atrocities some people created. Brighton was just really beautiful and clean and well, just imagine a very gay neighborhood. haha. And not to mention the mayo-hating girl I visited even made me Fajitas. could I have been in more heaven? Morrissey and Mexican in the same night!

From Brighton I headed up to Glasgow with my backpack and new rolling suitcase. So in total I had 3 bags (including my day pack). Not very easy to travel that way, let me tell you. So there isn't much to do in Glasgow. I walked around and they have plenty of shopping, but unfortunetly, since I refuse to use the British pound, I didn't buy anything. I also went to a cemetary on a hill and looked around for anyone I might know. Not that I know any Scottish people, but ya never know what you'll find. Also, the cemetary was from the 19th century, thus decreasing my odds. Then the second day, my Spanish boyfriend came to visit and we went to the cemetary again (I guess I really liked it), looked for anyone he might know (less odds than me) and.....

the highlight of the Glasgow experience....we were having dinner in a pub one night and all of a sudden the place got packed. We soon realized that it was trivia night. I know first hand that Scot's love thier trivia nights. So I asked the MC if it was Scottish trivia or general. IN his VERY VERY thick accent, I think he said that its general trivia but most teams are made up of about 6 regulars who are obsessed with trivia so a Spaniard and American might not do so well. But we didn't care. So ok, he was right, we didn't do so well. But not because we didn't know our trivia...we couldn't understand the damn questions due to the MC's accent. He repeated every question twice. I did not understand even one question the first time around. So i had to translate his "english" into american english and then into spanish so we could try to figure out the answer. So we kicked butt in the geography category....especially since there was one question about a city in Spain, and one about what state is Helena the capital of....except...I thought it was North Dakota. IT IS RIGHT NEXT TO MONTANA I TELL YOU!!!! Apparently, the MC didn't care how close I was...and he proceeded to announce to everyone in the pub that the one American there missed the question. How embarrassing. So then we were hoping to excel in the sports section, but we did not get one correct answer because it was all Scottish sports. JERKS! So all in all, well we lost. And at the end of the game, apparently they have a prize for the biggest losers...we heard our name and the whole bar was cheering but we couldn't understand what he was saying so we were just sitting there while the whole bar waited for us to go get our prize. But we didn't suck that bad because we got 98 points and the next team had 107. So we were proud.

So from there we headed to Edinburgh, which was absolutely beautifully decorated for Christmas. And absolutely packed with spanish people for some odd reason. We met up with my dear friend from my earlier travels and caught up on everything. We were so excited to see each other I think we forgot to breathe we were talking so much!!! (that doesn't sound like me, does it?) Our final night in Scotland was the greatest!! After dinner we stumbled onto a sports bar showing the Barcelona v. Seville soccer match, ANNNNDDD more importantly, an American football game. Luckily the two tv's were right next to each other so we both learned a little bit about the other sport. And after we talked about politics....interesting considering ALLLL Europeans hate Bush...and well. I'll just leave it there or else I will get hate emails from my libby friends.

And from there, I went to Manchester to visit another San Jose transplant, and the home of Morrissey. Ok this update is a tad long. more later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb