Back to Spain for the homestretch


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country
December 22nd 2005
Published: December 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ok So after my one night stay in Manchester where I literally just slept all day and all night, I went to the train station at 9PM to make my way to the airport outside of London. So i had to sleep in the Birmingham train station from 11-5am. But unfortunetly I didn't sleep one wink. Once I got on the train with all my crap...which by the way, I took up 4 seats with my crap....I finally dozed off a little. When I fell asleep there was no one on the train, when i woke up it was jam packed and people were crammed into the aisles...yet I had 4 seats full of crap, and I was sprawled out on two of them. Haha sorry people. I needed my American backpacker sign.

So I finally arrived in Spain at around 3 the next day due to delays and since the airport was 1.5 hours away from my bf's house. I just slept and slept. The next day we drove up to the Pyranees on the French/Spanish border. SOOO Beautiful! Unfortunetly, I only had my trusty disposable camera so no good pics to upload for ya. Apparently, they have green, blue, black, and RED runs in Spain. Red is in between blue and black. This mountain was HUGEEEE. But sadly, since it was early in the season there was no snow on the black runs...just dirt and rocks. Since I was teaching my friend how to ski, we really had no need to go on the blacks anyways. Speaking of blacks, I got in a little trouble because I kept asking where the Negros were instead of the Negras (black diamond runs). So basically i kept asking where all the black people were. Oops. So one thing, no matter how well you think you can speak another language...it is not easy to teach someone to ski in a foreign language. I just was hollering down the mountain "TURN!!!!" as he was heading for the edge of a cliff. Good times. So we had paid for 2 days of skiing but the next day we were greeted with rain on the mountain. I refused to ski in rain, so we decided to come back in February/March. Its so great, lift tickets are $30 and you can use them any time this year or next year. how accomodating!

So after that we went back to the small town of Bergara and just chilled. After watching movies all day we decided to go to the local pub at 10pm on Sunday night. It was jammed packed. Ironically it was an Irish pub with all kinds of little Irish sayings, however, it wasn't in proper English. Some crazy Spaniard had translated incorrectly. haha.

So Monday I left the house at 9am for my flight from Bilbao, Spain to London Stansted. From London stansted I took a 2 hour train to London Heathrow. From London Heathrow I flew to Paris. I waited in Paris from 7PM until my flight the next morning at 11am. Then From Paris I flew to Dallas, and finally, 40 hours later, I arrived in San Jose. This is what memories are made of people. I arrived at 9pm on Tuesday night. At 5am Wednesday morning, my family went to colorado for Christmas. Over one week later, I still wake up at 2am.

SO thats it. My trip is over. However, as many of you know....I am moving to Spain. As you can probably tell, I have found someone very very special and I am gonna move out there for awhile. I will leave after I rent out my house and sell my car (anyone want a Durango?). I am targetting February...I will be back just in time for Carnival!!! And you are all welcome to come visit!

Well I guess this is my last entry for a while. Sorry no one got Christmas cards this year...maybe I will send New Year's cards if i get my act together. If not I hope everyone is enjoying the season and I miss all of you!!!

Happy New Year!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb