Walking The Way: Day 5 & 6


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
June 7th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy: 7 miles



Before heading out, I bought a roll of bandaids and some breakfast. My total was $7. The 7 miles from Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy was very level (only taking 3.5 hours to complete), running parallel to some railroad tracks. Because it was level my knee was good (until the descent at the end), but, of course, it’s always something. My big toe (on my right foot), that I stubbed hard on a rock on the second day, was throbbing with every step. I wished I was on one of those trains. I was seriously considering bailing on this hike. I ran into several people that were taking trains from one stop to another, instead of hiking. I was definitely tempted. I even went to the train station and sat there watching the trains pull in and roll away again, for a couple of hours. Instead, I decided to spend an extra day at Bridge of Orchy (for a total of about $100) and rest up.

I made the descent to the hostel and realized that my camera was missing. I dreaded the hike back up the hill to the trail (since that meant another descent…my poor knee), but I had to backtrack and hope to find it. I couldn’t have been far, because I took a picture of the train station at the top of the hill, before descending into town. Lucky for me a couple of Belgian guys, that I would later befriend, found it and ran into me before I made it all the way up the hill. They said they knew it was my camera because there were not many pictures of people…so lonely. I thanked them profusely and offered to buy them a drink later.

I had my 3 bed dorm room to myself the first night and mostly hung out, read and had a great dinner and drinks with other walkers. The restaurant was really good. It was the best food on the trail so far. On my second day, I bade farewell to all my current trail mates and greeted, throughout the day, new trail mates, some that I had met earlier, who were a day behind, because they made an extra stop. The French group and the older German ladies from Rowardenan, were a few. I also surfed the internet a lot on the hostels computer. All in all, I was kind of missing the trail, but it was nice to be off my knee. Of course, my toe was just getting worse. I had a couple of segment hiking girls on my second night. They were nice to talk to.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of OrchyWest Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy

To the bunkhouse at the Bridge of Orchy hotel/hostel. Scotland
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of OrchyWest Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy

Bridge of Orchy Hotel/Hostel. Scotland
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of OrchyWest Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy

My room at the Bridge of Orchy Hotel/Hostel. Scotland
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of OrchyWest Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy

A couple of French walkers. Scotland
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of OrchyWest Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy
West Highland Way: Tyndrum to Bridge of Orchy

A couple of German walkers. Scotland


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb