Walking The Way: Day 7


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
June 8th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bridge of Orchy to Kingshouse: 9 miles



It took me less than 4.5 hours to complete this leg. The day started out drizzly, but soon cleared up. I was a fairly level section. My knee barely hurt, but my toe was getting very bad. The nail was turning black and pressure was building. I decided to find a lighter and heat up a safety pin and puncture the nail, to release pressure as soon as I got to Kingshouse.

Kingshouse had a hotel (expensive and booked well in advance) and free camping. I had to wait four hours for my backpack to arrive so I could set up my tent. I waited in the climbers bar and had some soup and coffee. When my backpack finally arrived, I found a pretty nice spot by the river to set up my tent. I got some matches from the bar and heated up a safety pin and barely touched it to my toenail. Right away, clear fluid spilled out and I felt instant relief. No more toe pain. I had some dinner in the restaurant and went to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

West Highland Way: Bridge of Orchy to KingshouseWest Highland Way: Bridge of Orchy to Kingshouse
West Highland Way: Bridge of Orchy to Kingshouse

Climbers bar. Kingshouse Inn. Scotland


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb