Falkirk and beyond


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Falkirk
June 20th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument

Stirling, Scotland
After I left the Isle of Skye I drove to Falkirk to visit the William Wallace monument and to couchsurf. I had a wonder couchsurfing host. She volunteered at the University (in Glasgow), in the zoology department and was kind enough to take me with her to feed the animals. I got to go "behind the scenes" and hold a snake, centipede and lizards. After staying with her and hanging out for two days, I had to return the car to Glasgow. I returned the car and took a bus back into the city. I lined up another great couchsurfing host. She is a film producer and took me to a screening the night I stayed with her. We met up with another couchsurfer at the screening. I was fortunate enough to see some good Scottish independent films and meet some great people.

The next day, I took the very cute subway train in Glasgow to the bus station and caught the bus to the ferry that would take me to Belfast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument
William Wallace Monument

Stirling, Scotland
William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument
William Wallace Monument

View from the top. Stirling, Scotland.
William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument
William Wallace Monument

View from the top. Stirling, Scotland.
Falkirk, ScotlandFalkirk, Scotland
Falkirk, Scotland

My couchsurfing host.
Glasgow UniversityGlasgow University
Glasgow University

African millipede
Glasgow UniversityGlasgow University
Glasgow University

Zoology Department. My couchsurfing host and two bearded dragons.


24th January 2010

Glasgow University African centipede
Liked the picture of the "centipede" but it's actually a millipede! Millipedes have 2 pairs of legs per segment, are slow moving, curl up in defence, are vegetarian and practically harmless; centipedes have 1 pairs of legs per segment which stick out to the side, are very fast, are predators and are venomous. Look on the web and you will find plenty of pictures of actual centipedes, though a number of cases of people thinking millipedes are centipedes - both in the class Myriapoda, but centipedes then belong to the Chilopoda and millipedes to the Diplopoda.
4th April 2011
William Wallace Monument

Wallace
Nice! did you shoot the pohto youself?
13th October 2017
William Wallace Monument

I did
Thank you

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 105; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb