Isle of Skye to Glasgow


Advertisement
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ft. WilliamFt. WilliamFt. William

Scotland

After Walking the Way



I took the bus from Ft. William to Glasgow and rented a car to spend the next week in Scotland. After renting the car, I drove to Tyndrum (the route on the Way) to pick up some West Highland Way t-shirts for me, Dani and Thomas (we didn't want to carry them while hiking). It is amazing how short the West Highland Way is when driving. After picking up the t-shirts and talking to some walkers currently walking the Way, I made my way to the Isle of Skye for the next couple of days. The weather was wet. And cold. I was very lucky to have had the great weather the week I walked. The fuel was ridiculously expensive. I initially thought I would drive down to Leeds to visit a friend I made while on the cruise to Barcelona, but after refueling a couple of times, I decided I couldn't afford it. I was paying the equivilent of $9 a gallon.

I got to Skye and found a hostel (I had no luck finding a couch to couchsurf). The hostel (Isle of Skye Hostel) had great scones and free coffee, tea and hot cocoa. I was assigned to a big room (coed) with about 10 people and since I was a late arriver, I ended up with a top bunk. I was hanging out in the living room, which had a coal burning fireplace, talking with a group of people who turned out to be siblings (mostly) and two of the siblings were twins and musicians from Puerto Rico. They gave me one of their cd’s, which I listened to in my car during the rest of my trip, them passed on to my couchsurfing host in Glasgow.

On my second day on the Isle of Skye, I picked up a hitchhiker (she turned out to be staying in my room at the hostel. She was kind enough to treat me to a tour of a castle and we hung out the rest of the day. I gave her a ride, the next morning, to the train station so she could head back to England. On my last day, I befriended a couple from Australia that quit their jobs and headed out on the adventure of their life. They were in their early 50’s and were looking for work in Scotland and England. We spent the day touring the Island.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

My new hitchhiking friend.
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

The adventurous Aussie couple. Scotland.
Isle of SkyeIsle of Skye
Isle of Skye

Scotland.


4th January 2009

pictures are fantastic one day I hope to visit Skye to research my ancestry
17th July 2010

Well Done
Hi, Enjoyed reading your adventure, i am thinking of walking the way by myself too and stumbled across your blog when searching google, you have motivated me even more to do it

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb