Walking The Way: Final Day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
June 10th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kinlochleven to Ft. William: 12 miles



It was a nice day. If my knee was ok, all would be right with the world. As it was, I dreaded every descent. At one point I walked backwards (easier on the knee) for almost a mile. I walked with, off and on, the Jersey girl, both sets of Belgians (the couple and the two guys) and a really nice German couple (this was their first long distance hike), Dani and Thomas. The views were great. The last 2 miles, I took the road instead of the trail to trim off 2 miles. It was still downhill and it still hurt. I found a place to stay in Ft. William, a nice tourist/outdoor base camp sort of town. The two Belgian guys and the German couple stayed at the same hostel (Bank Street Lodge) and we hung out for the next couple of days. The two Belgian guys were going on to hike The Great Glen Way. I talked with the German couple about getting together to hike El Camino through the Pyrenees.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb