Scotland!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Shetland Islands
October 17th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Damnit, I had just written my next entry but the net died. Stupid hostel. Oh yea, and I'm in Edinburgh; don't know where it is in the locations we get to select

So anyway, I think my last entry had me saying something about something. Can't remember. So my last few days in London were fun, I didn't have any places to stay and was pretty much homeless until 7:30 Friday and Saturday nights. From now on, I think I may have to book those days in advanced … but we'll cross that bridge when we get there. Eventually I found hostels and had to pay a bit more than I had hoped, but they were fun because they ended up having bars and well, met some cool people while watching the soccer.

Saturday in London was alright. Went to Greenwich on the most perfect day ever. Sun was out, no clouds in the sky, probably about 25 degrees. Ended up falling asleep in the park for about 30 minutes it was that relaxing. Shit went downhill from there. Having the Olympics in about 300 days meant London's doing a crapload of work with the railway system, which meant delays, which meant the trains that were running were shit full. Having booked my accommodation at the cheapest place I could find, it was pretty far from where my other hostel was. I had to sit in the train full of people, sweating, carrying 25kg on my back, then walk about 30 minutes because the hostel was far from the station. When I eventually got there, though, it was cool. There was a bar, and more importantly, 2 pound pints.

Anyway, Sunday now, just arrived in my non-prebooked hostel in Ediburgh, eating meatballs and chips. Going to try Haggis tomorrow night hopefully. Oh yea, those rail passes are probably not worth it. I spent $139 AU on the pass for three trips within two months, but I think flying with those budget airlines like EasyJet or RyanAir would probably be cheaper. I can't check at the moment since I'm typing this on notepad since the internet is down. Will copy & paste soon.

Next day now since I couldn't get the net to work. Edinburgh was shitting down rain today. Still ended up going to a few places, but it's freaked cold and wet. Whisky tour was good, seeing how they make it, and coming with some freebie glass. Booked a tour too to see the highlands, lochness and inverness or something, so my plans to get to France by the 25th of October is down the gutter. Hoping to arrive there by 29th though, and still hoping to watch Les Miserables in England.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb