Continuing the Da Vinci Code Trail


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 4th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am a big fan of the Da Vinci Code book, and so after following the story through London, I had to visit Roslyn Chapel in Scotland. Claimed by the book to be one of the places they hid the holy grail, Roslyn is an amazing chapel that is unequalled in the stone carvings that adorn every part of the church. Filled with oddities and mystique, the church has seen a huge boom in tourism based on the book and subsequent movie. I dont know what the truth behind the holy grail is, but I reckon Roslyn hides a few secrets that only the original creators know.

No trip to Scotland during the Edinburgh Festival would be complete without attending the military tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. Our hosts organised us tickets, and the show did not disappoint! The bagpipers marching out of the castle gates through smoke and fire is a moving sight.

There was an Australian military marching band in amongst the bagpipers, as well as a New Zealand band and performers from Switzerland, Africa, England and more. Having Scottish blood in my heritage, I thought the whole show was great! I filled the memory card of my camera at the tattoo.

I have been having a blast I Scotland, partying and eating a new found food - haggis!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb