First day in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 6th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Edinburgh after a stopover in Manchester where I got a thrill seeing snow on the mountain tops in the mountain tops in the distance. To my delight, on my tiny 40min trip to Edinburgh they gave us lovley hot tea and shortbread - how very English I felt! To leave the airport I took my enormous 20kg bag & attached my hand luggage backpack to it & held my camera bag, hand bag and neck cushion. Omg I am such an idiot for taking so much stuff. I took the sky bus into town and bumped my head trying to see out the window at all the beautiful buildings and gorgeous flowers that are out, as it's spring!! 10 degrees and under does not qualify for spring in my opinion, but the architecture is so very beautiful. I am already in love with Scotland.

I eventually hopped off the bus and proceeded to have 3 attempts at putting on my backpack before putting it against a wall and trying again, squeeking loudly as I very nearly took some ppl out with it before a kind guy picked it up as though it was a feather and put in on my back. So began the long steep walk up the giant hill to my very first hostel. Complete with three flights of stairs. The joy. I wish I hadn't needed to pack for both summer and winter. I honestly only packed 3 pairs of shoes and shower thongs!

After dropping off my copious belongings I wandered the city, visited Princes gardens, I am in Love with daffodils! I also saw the museum, Edinburgh castle and took lots of photos. I then took a free ghost tour which was quite entertaining and even met a family who were from Townsville! I then wandered the city again looking for somewhere both authentically Scotish and warm to eat as I had lost all feeling in my toes by this time! A hot soup and wine was so perfect to warm up. :-) I am off on my Haggis tour tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Scary but amazing church buildingScary but amazing church building
Scary but amazing church building

Sorry I forgot its name!


11th May 2012

Oh Manda ... you have bought back my memories of the first time I saw Edinburgh ... however it was -3 & covered in snow for me!!! x

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb