3 day stop-over in Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
April 3rd 2012
Published: April 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So now I am in Dubai, currently staying with Dylan's extended family Marco and Brittany and having a blast with their kids Remi and Gabby. Remi is a musician in the making and Gabby has a mean tennis swing, they are both beautiful kids and are heaps of fun! We went out for a delicious dinner on Tuesday evening of humus, baba ganoush, egg plant humas, delicious salads and middle eastern style chicken. The fruit juices here are also amazing.

Marco was nice enough to drive us around so I could see the city at night. It was truly amazing the freedom the architects were given when designing some of the buildings in Dubai. Some are simply a work of art. It had been a long day for me and jet lag had set in, so thanks to Remi (whos bed I borrowed) I had a very good sleep in preparation for a day at Dubai mall tomorrow!

I spent the day at Dubai mall, looking for long black pants as my pair didn't make it into my bag when I packed back at home, whoops, blone moment! Currently it is snowing in scotland, which is my next destination and I am a little concerned that I am going to freeze! The mall was so amazing there were art instillations, an aquarium inside which took 2 floors, an indoor ice-skating rink, a games level...not to mention the 100's of fashion, shoes, food and homewares. I would have been in heaven, except I couldn't fit much in my already full backpack! Haha So unfortunately I ended up empty handed (except for delicious cake) so I am off to another mall tomorrow and then in the afternoon I am heading to the water park and aquarium at Atlantis.

I am really looking forward to the water slide which goes through a shark tank! Awesome! The opulence of Dubai blows me away, the avant garde design of the buildings, the fact that the buildings seem to just rise from the sand and the taxi drivers seem to have a death wish, seriously! Yesterday my driver was doing speeds of 150+ and getting air borne on the speed bumps after taking the corners like a race car driver. Crazy!

My first time at a water park was sooo much fun! I did all the rides and met an Eqyptian guy who worked there as a life guard who showed me around and took me down the rapids. I didn't even get sunburnt in the 40 degree temperatures! Yay. It was also fun catching the monorail back to town and then trying to fight for a cab. Luckily this time my new driver valued both his life and mine! I would love to come back to Dubai in the future, there is still so much more to explore!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Rock Lobster.....Rock Lobster.....
Rock Lobster.....

I may have been singing the rock lobster song to them....hehe


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb