Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!

I only have a few minutes before I board a plane to Dublin, but I thought I should check-in to let everyone know what I'm up to and that I'm doing great!

Scotland officially has the nicest people in the world.

After staying with Allie in Lancaster for a few days we decided to take a trip to Edinburgh. Well, we didn't really think ahead to the fact that it was Easter weekend...Bad idea. Every single affordable hotel and hostal was booked. We ended up finding one, but it was in a town located an hour outside of a city, called Dunfermline. (It took me 3 full days to learn how to pronounce that word correctly!) We got to the hotel and, what do you know, our reservation didn't go through. Like a couple of hobos, Allie and I walked a mile and a half to another hotel that actually had accomodation. As unlikely as it sounds, this turned out to be a great adventure! We met some hilarious people, and saw some amazing sights.

The first evening we were there we were joined by a girl from Allie's program, named Amy. Along with her we spent two nights in Dunfermline, then 2 nights in Edinburgh. If you ever make it to the UK, you absolutely HAVE to see Edinburgh. The first day there we met up with a friend of one of my friends from college, Tracy, and she gave us a tour of the city. We saw Edinburgh Castle, walked the Royal Mile, took a tour of the haunted underground city, and went to the cafe in which J.K. Rowling wrote the first Harry Potter! Yesterday Allie had to head back to Lancaster, but Amy and I climbed up to Arthur's Seat (an arduous hike to one of the highest points in Scotland), and met a military man from Pennsylvania, named Rob.

Even though we had a few bumps along the road, it turned out to be better than we had planned. 😊

I apologize again, but I won't be able to include photos until Nick gets here tomorrow. I promise than my next blog with include pictures and be a lot more descriptive and not so brief.

Look for a new blog from Ireland in a few days!!!

Laura Lee


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



27th April 2011

Love reading!
Thanks for updated the blog, Laura! i'm so excited for you and your adventures. Tell Allie hi for me and nick when he gets there. I'll look forward to your next posting and until then keep having fun and being safe Love, Estef

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb