Sleepless in Lancaster


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Lancaster
April 20th 2011
Published: April 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

You'll have to bear with me because I wrote this blog on paper while trying to keep from falling asleep on the train to Lancaster after 20+ hours without sleep.

I made it!!

After 22 hours of international travel, seeing a sunset (b)AND(b) a sunrise from the same airplane window, changing planes in a snowy country that is covered in lava, making friends with a girl in which I couldn't even pronounce her name, being mistaken for an Icelandic woman multiple times, being asked by a cranky lady in immigration, "How does an unemployed person like you afford to travel?", taking the London Underground for an hour, and catching a 3-hour train through the English countryside I (i)finally(i) got to see the beautiful face of Allie Friese. Wasn't that a sight for sore eyes?

Let me tell you, traveling is a lot more stressful when you have to go somewhere else (or several other places) to get to where you actually want to go. Someone should hurry up and invent a teleporting machine already!

I waited 19 hours and 37 minutes, all without sleep, to be seated on the train that was finally going to take me to Lancaster. When it took off from Euston Station I breathed a momentous sigh of relief that lasted for... about 12 seconds before it sunk in that Nick and my entire trip is going to be like this.

Oh boy...

On the bright side, the weather is sunny and in the 70's, the English countryside is beautiful, and did I mention that I'm in Europe??? 😉 I'll try to attach pictures later. I apologize for not including any right now, but the train was moving too fast. In brief detail, the part of England that I'm in is very green with field after field of bright yellow flowers. There are sheep and their lambs frolicking in every other field, and it appears that each town had to rob a brick factory in order to build all of the houses.

Allie looks great. So far our plan is to rest up for a day, then tomorrow we are going to spend the day exploring Manchester. On Friday we are taking off for Edinburgh, Scotland to meet up with some friends, and then we'll see how things go from there. I just have to make it to Dublin by next Wednesday morning to pick up Nick at the airport.

I hope that the weather at home is half as nice as it is here! xx

Laura

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb