Sorry but I have to love ya and leave ya, Edinburgh. XOXOXO


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Panoramic view 35 secs
Today I got up gorged at the free breakfast provided by the hostel and the decided that I would phone home *done in creepy ET like voice*. I spoke to Mum and Scott for around 1.5 hours and also played a few games of checkers and dominoes. I then called Steph and got to speak to Ben and Steph 😊, as per usual…drunk. LOL.
It was around 2pm when I left the hostel. I had met some girls from America that asked if I wanted to join them on a tour that they were going to do, I was going to meet them at Starbucks on the Royal Mile at 2.30pm. I got there and waited for 15mins but they didn’t show so I went back to my original plan of climbing Christopher’s seat which is a giant rock that overlooks the city it’s around *m tall. I set off from Starbucks and got there within 20 minutes but I knew the hard part was still to come! Just looking at how big it was, was daunting but I was determined to climb it so I started the steep journey. As I was climbing I unfortunately met an annoying Italian guy that had spoken at me (yes, that is written correctly, spoke at me!) at the hostel. He asked if we could walk together and being the nice guy I am I said “Yeah, that’s fine”. The only good thing he did was take some photos of me with my camera rather than having to take photos with an outstretched arm 😄. Anyway…we got to the top of the hill after a lot of steep slopes and as my head popped over the last little hill I was gob smacked the view was breath taking. You could see the whole of Edinburgh with the rolling hills in the background, you could also see the city next to Edinburgh (well, I think it was), the coast and also some islands that were in the river…AMAZING! After relaxing and absorbing the view for around an hour I decided I couldn’t handle the Italia any longer and jumped off the cliff…no, that’s a lie if you read that and believed it you’re an IDIOT, how would I write this blog HUH? What I actually did was suggest we head back in to the city, my plan was to go to Dynamic Earth which is big dome where you lay down and it plays a documentary of sorts of the development of the world. The Italian was like I don’t really have any money but I’ll come to the entry and have a look . I went to buy a ticket and the guy advised they stop selling tickets for the day 10 minutes ago!
I then decided I had to sneak past the Italian as to not have to spend the rest of the afternoon being spoken at in broken English, I see myself as a very patient person and I’m happy to help him with English but he just doesn’t stop talking! I saw him wandering around the foyer looking at things so I shot past, out the door and up the street not even looking back. I made it away with out any hassles, I made my way to the Royal Mile as there is generally stuff going on such as street performers, shops, etc. I did manage to catch the finale of some street performers swallowing some swords and then juggling knives to each other, it was ok…I couldn’t do it! I think the cooler thing was one of the guys was really good with a crystal ball, rolling it all over his body, down his back, on his head, just like Bowie in Labyrinth…AWESOME! I looked in a few street shops and bought a couple of things and then headed back to the hostel to do washing and make some dinner. I met up with the American girls back at the hostel and grilled them on where they were, jokingly of course and then ended up speaking to them for a few hours and then went bed.
Edinburgh is amazing if you have the opportunity GO THERE, great vibe in the city, good pubs, clubs as well (I’ve heard). There’s just something about it that is so damn cool. Next is Inverness and Glasgow, lets see if they even compare to Edinburgh 😄.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Long way down!Long way down!
Long way down!

It was actually a lot higher than the phot makes it look.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb