Edinburgh!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 7th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I started the day off with a three hour walking tour of all of Edinburgh. I heard some great stories like the one about Greyfriar's Bobby a dog who, after his master (the keeper of the graveyard) died, guarded his master's grave until he died. I also heard about the Stone of Destiny and many many other neat things. I met some really nice girls on the tour (one from Saskatchewan and one from New Zealand) so we decided to go hike up Arthur's Seat. There are two ways to high up: one harder side and one easier. Upon coming to the hill we weren't sure which was 'easy' and which was hard so we guessed. We went up the hard side! Then when we got to the 'seat' we realized we had done the hard side and so we went all the way down the easy side and then back up the easy side and down the hard side again because we were worried that if we didn't go back to the same place we started we would be more than lost!

We all decided to go on New Europe's pubcrawl. There was a free one at my hostel, but as I didn't know anyone there I figured I would go on the pub crawl with my new friends that were staying in different hostels. I had a lot of fun. On the pub crawl there were us girls, a couple from Russia, a guy from Germany, a guy from Portland, a guy from England and his brother who was from Scotland. There were also quite a few guides that do the New Europe tours who were coming and going as well. Our pub crawl leader is from Canada (Nova Scotia). It was a lot of fun!

Now today I'm going to go out and explore Edinburgh on my own and do a ghost tour!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb