Edinburgh, Day 28 Edinburgh Castle and KILT!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My Kilt!My Kilt!My Kilt!

Eat your heart out!
I haven’t gotten to tell you about last night’s performance. It poured rain the entire show, even after having a gorgeous day. Oh, it was so cold, and it rained so hard that the water even saturated through our thick wool uniforms. It is currently 2:35 here, and my uniform is still soaked. Our plumes got hit the hardest last night. Pray for them, AGAIN! This morning we all walked up to the castle for sightseeing and tours. It started out as a gorgeous day, but pay attention to the sky in my pictures. It is now pouring outside. The castle is very neat, but not quite as impressive as Stirling Castle.
(Brenda E., if you are reading this, I pulled you a rock from the castle wall, so I hope the castle doesn’t collapse now!) I’ve been debating, ya know, whether or not I should get a kilt, and after several thumbs up from people back home, I decided to do it. The castle sits at the end of the Royal Mile, which is where all the kilt and souvenir shops are located. I searched and searched, and finally found the kilt I wanted. Yes, it’s the first “skirt” I’ve ever bought! I was going to go for the longer women’s kilt, which hits at the ankle, but the man and woman working at the shop said “Oh no, no, no! Only elderly women wear those, you need this length.” So they fitted me and got everything adjusted for me on it. It’s in the traditional wool Blackshire Tartan, which is very pretty up close and has a bright blue stripe in it. The Blackshire Tartan is also known to be one of the musician’s tartans. It is also the traditional women’s length, which makes me feel a bit naked! Everybody says it looks fine and that it would look weird if it were any longer. I must say, it’s the same length as the men’s kilts! The great thing about women’s kilts is that you don’t have to buy a sporran (the little pouch) to go with it, so that saved me some major dough. Oh, did I mention I got a really good deal on it. Kilts are extremely pricey, but I faired very well. I visited a kilt weaving mill today, and that was so neat to watch. The looms were going crazy and it was so neat to walk around and see all the different tartan fabrics that had just been made. I had many townspeople tell me they are going to the Tattoo tonight, so I’m anxious for them to get to see it. Oh, a little reminder: The performance is airing tomorrow, August 23rd, at 1:30 p.m. CST, on what we believe to be BBC 1, so if you have satellite, check it out!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The ChapelThe Chapel
The Chapel

This is the oldest building in Scotland
Home of the Crown jewelsHome of the Crown jewels
Home of the Crown jewels

We got to go in and see!
Dungeon DoorDungeon Door
Dungeon Door

You can even see where the prisoners carved pictures and words into it
The Tartan Weaving MillThe Tartan Weaving Mill
The Tartan Weaving Mill

One of the looms


22nd August 2008

Wow!
Hi, Baby! I'm so glad you bought such a beautiful kilt and for such a fair price. Oh , and by the way, it does lots of wonderfulness for your hindquarters, too!(LOL) Seriously, you'll enjoy having such a neat souvenir. I really hope our internet connection works well tomorrow since that will be the last time we'll get to "see" each other until Tuesday (noticeable sobs in the background). Please contact us when your plane gets in to Chi-Town. Love ya lots, Mom
22nd August 2008

Did you receive my Aug. 22 comment?
Hi, Baby! I'm going to try to duplicate my comment for you. I am so glad to see that you bought such a beautiful kilt and for such a fair price. Oh, and by the way, it does lots of wonderfulness for your hindquarters!(LOL) Seriously, you'll be very glad that you have such a wonderful souvenir of your trip. I hope that we'll have a good Internet connection tomorrow morning since that will be our last time to "see" each other until Tuesday (noticeable sobs in the background). Please be sure to call us when your plane arrives in Chi-Town. Lots of love, Mom
23rd August 2008

kilt
Love it! And it looks perfect for SEMO events (though I can't see the blue). And that pouch thing is not appropriate for women! Study on it; I think you can figure it out. I'm assuming Bonnie will have the tattoo recorded so I can watch it sometime. See you soon!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb