Edinburgh, Day 27 Day of Sadness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My parentsMy parentsMy parents

I can't wait to get back to them.
Today has been a hard day on the band. Remember Nicole, the girl who Mr. B sent home because she found out her dad was diagnosed with leukemia? Well, her dad passed away last night. It was so hard for us to receive the many text messages she was sending last night telling us of his condition. I just kept saying to myself “Lord, this isn’t fair; this is her second dad, a 19 year old should not have to go through this.” The final text came at 4:00 a.m. this morning. I wish I could be there and just hug her neck. She told us that it was her dad’s wish for her to play “Taps” at his memorial. She is a very strong girl, and I know she can do it, but there is no way I could. What has happened to her is my biggest fear in life, and it killed me to hear her say “he won’t be able to walk me down the aisle.” I had to leave the room where we were all standing. I can not wait for Tuesday, when I see my parents for the first time. I will probably tackle them to the ground. All I have to say is: Parents, if you aren’t getting check ups, start now, and kids, if you don’t appreciate your parents, then start doing some appreciating and tell them everyday you love ‘em.
On the brighter side of things, IT STILL RAINING!! Woo Hoo! (I’m being VERY sarcastic) We do get paid today for our performances and we get to order pictures today. We had the opportunity Tuesday night to have individual and small group shots taken in front of the castle in our uniforms. I jumped on that opportunity real fast, because I know Mama will want that. The photographer is coming to our dorms today so that we can order the pictures, and he is going to have them ready to give to us Saturday, which I think is impressive. There is a rumor going around that we are playing our National Anthem again. I hope we are, that way Mr. B can conduct again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb