Edinburgh, Day 29 Slumber Party!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 23rd 2008
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gettin Excited for the Slumber PartyGettin Excited for the Slumber PartyGettin Excited for the Slumber Party

Still in my white pants after the performance
First of all, I have a correction. The BBC is airing the Tattoo now on August 25th at 12:30 p.m. CST on BBC 1 due to Olympic programming. Last night’s performance went very well. While we’ve been here, we have had little redhawk pins that we have been trading for other items from other bands. Last night I traded with the Indian Band and I got back a really cool wood keychain that says “Indian Band” on it. I’m expecting something from the Royal Marines and the Singapore Band tonight. Now onto the best part of the blog. A few nights ago, Michael Harrer busted into our flat and randomly said “I wanna have a slumber party!” We thought that sounded fun, so we decided to have one last night. Oh, it was beyond fun! We moved all of the common room furniture out into the hallway and covered every inch of the common room with mattresses. Our whole flat stayed along with Mike, Jonathan Bernhardt and Anne Marie Bernhardt. Everybody was crazy last night and we kept having those “bust a gut-can’t breathe” laughing moments! Like somebody would already be in the middle of a funny story, but then somebody for some reason falls out of his chair! Yeah, we have that on video! Or some girl would jump across the mattress like a 5 year old and then land on her stomach, only to hit the floor underneath and knock the wind out of her. Not to mention all the snacks we had! We didn’t “settle in” until 4:00 a.m., but like all slumber parties, we still stayed up and talked. Everybody finally fell asleep. Somebody who will remain nameless decided to really saw the logs, so I got up and went to my own room to sleep. I woke up around 11:00 and came into the common room to find some still snoozing. Photo Op! Tonight marks our last performance, and I’m not gonna lie, I’m kind of dreading it. I know I will cry during the finale of the second show tonight. Not only is it the last performance of the Tattoo, but it is my final performance as a marching band member, besides the stand still performance at the football game Thursday. There are a few people on the trip who are not returning to marching band this fall, either because of class schedules or because they have graduated and are heading off to grad school or the real world, and I will truly miss them. I have been watching the Golden Eagles perform ever since I was in the fourth grade, and I always remember wanting to be a part of them. I have been for 6 years now, and the GEMB will forever hold a dear and special place in my heart. I will continue to assist with the band this fall, but it is hard to realize that my days of performing with them and wearing that uniform come to an end tonight. But man, am I going out with a bang or what!? (Literally, there will be fireworks!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



23rd August 2008

Whoa, Nellie!
Hi, Baby! Sounds like you all had a great time last night at the slumber party. Love the white pants(Not!). I hope no future employer ever sees your last picture("I don't do mornings"). Now Rob can tease you! Ha-ha! We can't wait to see you, Honey. I hope you can sleep on your trip so the time will pass quickly. Mucho Love-o, Mom

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb