Edinburgh, Days 24 & 25 The Final Stretch


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(First of all, I have seen that some of you only see my blogs that are posted on the SEMO website, and I have to apologize for the many typos that I have found on them. I'm usually in a huge hurry to type my blogs and get them posted that I do a horrible job of proof reading. I really do know the difference between there, their and they're! HA!)
Well, I’m heading into the homestretch of my time here in Scotland. I’m still sick, but feeling much better than what I did yesterday. A lot of people think they had the 24 hour flu, and I’m wondering if that’s what I had. I went to the drugstore yesterday and bought some Vick’s Sinex, which works miracles at keeping your sinuses clear. I also knew I needed something else to help with other symptoms. All of the products here are completely different than what we are used to, so I asked the pharmacist what he recommended. He told me about this stuff called Lemsip which is a lot like Thera Flu. He said if I was able to choke down all 5 packages in 2 days, I should be good
The Robb Davis FaceThe Robb Davis FaceThe Robb Davis Face

Robb's ID pic didn't turn out so well, so we all take picutures looking like him!
to go by Wednesday. I bought it, and man he wasn’t kidding when he said choke it down, oh geez, it is sooo nasty! I have to chug it down and then have a hand full of grapes ready to stuff in my mouth to get the taste out!! I can tell its working though, so that’s great. I think this was God’s way of making me experience the true Scotland experience by having to check out the pharmacy. Wasn’t Haggis enough?! I headed to the internet café where I usually go, but the internet was lousy there for some reason, so I went to another place that I had heard of. It’s called Smart City Hostel’s Café and the internet is completely free and they have the Olympics on the big screen!!! This was the first time I have gotten to see the Olympics since I’ve been here. Of course the only events they were showing were women’s field events, men’s doubles ping pong and equestrian, which shouldn’t even be an Olympic event, the horses do all the work! Oh well, at least I can say I’ve watched some of the Olympics. It was nice to see that the U.S. is doing so well. Yesterday’s weather was very nasty, but it cleared up just in time for the Tattoo last night. Oh, I did not feel like playing at all, but oddly enough, I had one of my better performances last night. Mr. B spoke with us last night to remind us that we would be performing the same amount of shows this week that will perform the entire marching band season, and that we should enjoy ourselves and make memories. He showed us a gift that the Singapore band gave us to remember them by, so that was neat. He also told us that the marketing director spoke with him and said that we were the biggest marketing plus for the Tattoo this year, even bigger than the Kings Guard of Norway Band, which is the honored band. I will admit that I will miss the attention that we get while we’re over here, because we are “just another band” when we are home, even though we are the most televised collegiate band in the U.S. We don’t walk into a restaurant at home and constantly hear “Oh, I love the Golden Eagles” like we do here. It is a beautiful day today. I’ve been debating whether or not I should get a kilt. Some of the women’s kilts are beautiful and it would be a cool souvenir that I could keep forever. We have a football game next Thursday night, and the Scotland band is going to do the Tattoo performance during halftime. Mr. B said that if we have kilts we can wear them to the game. I may go out in search of one today. I have to be careful because some can be rather pricey!


Advertisement



20th August 2008

kilt
spend the money!
20th August 2008

I'e already told you!
Hi, Baby! I've already told you that if you want a kilt you need to pick you out a really pretty one and buy it, for Heaven's sake! Where else would you find one? What a great souvenir! Love, Mom P.S. I'm glad you're feeling better. (your? ) Psych!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb