Edinburgh, Day 23 Stirling and Sickness!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 17th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument

Now that's tall!
So yeah, I’m ill’in like Bob Dillon! I’m so mad, because once the “Tattoo Flu” started going around at the beginning of the trip, I’ve been taking Air Born and drinking lots of orange juice everyday. Well, that was a lost cause. My sinuses are severely messed up and I’m running a fever and…and…and…well, I just want my Mommy!! I realized at about 4:00 yesterday that I was feeling bad and I was doing that scratchy baby pig oink sound in the back of my throat. I am doing everything I can to keep other people from getting sick and I’m trying to keep my spirits up. I mean, I am in the best place to find a good hot toddy, right?! (Excuse my spelling of Toddy, I have no clue!) Last night’s double performance was swell, but we had to come back and go straight to bed because we knew we were leaving to go to Stirling this morning. Stirling is one of the most historic places in Scotland. Stirling is home to many battles between the Brits and the Scots, the William Wallace Monument, and Stirling Castle. We headed up (and when I say up, I mean up!) to the Wallace Monument first. We climbed straight uphill for what seemed like forever in order to just get to the monument itself, and then we had to climb 246 stairs that were in a narrow spiral form to get to the top of the monument. I feel a charley horse coming tonight! The breathtaking views at the top though were well worth the climbing. One of my flat mates, who has a phobia of stairs, even got up the nerve to climb to the top, because she did not want to miss out. Today was a good day to go because William Wallace reenactments were being put on throughout the morning. We then headed to Stirling Castle, which is so amazing. The amount of history that I learned about and “stood on” today was unreal. It is very strange to stand in a spot where your tour guide tells you it was built in 1457 A.D. and that Mary, Queen of Scots or King James IV has stood there. I had a great time in Stirling, but the bus ride back was pretty miserable because all of my medication had worn off and I couldn’t breathe. I think I am
246 Stairs to the Top!246 Stairs to the Top!246 Stairs to the Top!

Yeah, that is one tight spiral
going to stay in and rest tonight!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

View from the Top!View from the Top!
View from the Top!

Here ya go Libby!
Dems is Sheeps!Dems is Sheeps!
Dems is Sheeps!

That's what somebody said
ReinactmentReinactment
Reinactment

This is not a good picture, but this guy looked just like Rev. Gary Carter
Ow!Ow!
Ow!

A cannon ball shot the top portion of this statue off during an actual battle!
Ceiling of the Main HallCeiling of the Main Hall
Ceiling of the Main Hall

All of this is held together by wooden pegs, no nails
Inside the ChapelInside the Chapel
Inside the Chapel

Many kings and queens have been baptized (baptised?) here


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb