Scotland!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
June 16th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scotland is BEAUTIFUL! We arrived here in Edinburgh yesterday. It's so interesting to see crazy medieval architecture right next to posh, modern shopping centers. Yesterday, on the drive here, we stopped at Hadean's Wall, a wall built by the Romans in 122 AD. There isn't much left of it, but it was still neat to see and touch something that is SO old. Last night, we attended a Scottish show, complete with kilts and tartans and bagpipes. During intermission, we had a haggas/whiskey toast. I wasn't excited for EITHER of these two things, but when in Rome, eh? Haggas didn't taste bad...kinda like meatloaf. But I really didn't like the texture, so I wouldn't consider myself a fan. I didn't finish it, but at least I tried! Ian would be proud. :P

It stays light here until close to 12:30 AM and gets light again around 3 AM. It makes you not want to go to sleep.

Today we visited the Edinburgh castle which was very cool, and walked around the city. We also visited Rosslyn Chapel, which is WAY neat if you've read the DaVinci code. The architecture was amazing, and the attention to detail in the carvings was great. It was definitely a highlight of Scotland.

We met up with Katy Ajer today!!! For those of you who don't know, she's a really good friend of mine who moved here about a year ago to do some volunteer work. She's heading back to San Diego in 2 weeks, but we were lucky enough to get ahold of her today! She took us to a place called Wetherspoons (I think) which was like a pub-type chain restaurant place, but it seemed pretty authentic. We had really good alcoholic cider of some sort. It was great to see her.

Hope all is well with you!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



18th June 2008

Great first stop
Looks like you're having fun. Can't wait for the next blog. So, do they wear underwear under those kilts? Hehehe.
18th June 2008

Oh I'm so jealous that you saw Scotland. I hope you and your mom are having fun. I thought of a cheap souvenier (spelling?)....Coasters! If the bars have coasters I want some! hahaha ya!
25th June 2008

I love the picture from the hotel room in Scotland. Awesome!
10th July 2008

Strongbow!
The alcoholic cider is called Strongbow, and I personally wasn't a fan, but it's my sister's favorite, so I'm glad you liked it! and do you KNOW what are in haggis? ...it's pretty gross.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb