Long weekend in Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 1st 2005
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Haggis, Bagpipes and some amazing gothic architecture are just a few of the things me and Timmy got to experience when we went up to visit Tim and Sam in Edinburgh last weekend. I'd heard a lot of good things about Edinburgh and am so glad I made the effort because it more then exceeded any expectations I had and has convinced me to move up there for a few months next year. I cant wait! Highly reccomend checking it out if you get the chance because it's definately one of my favorite Cities in the world so far.

while we were there we went up for a look at the Edinburgh Castle that sits up on a hill right in the middle of the city and has parts of it almost 1000 years old!! it was amazing, and they keep the Scottish Crown Jewels there so we got to see them too! we also had a couple of great nights out with Tim, Sam and her cousin Jamie who was a top bloke, thanks so much for having us guys cant wait to see you again soon. And because it was Halloween, and Guy Fawkes is soon we carved out some big ol pumpkins and took them down to the park to set off some massive skyrockets that me and Tim had found.... whoooooohooooo!!!!!! for any of you that don't know, pretty much any decent fireworks are banned in New Zealand, so when Tim told me about the fireworks factory around the corner from his work we shot down there and bought up the biggest one we could find!! and a selection of other Skyrockets and roman-candles which traditionaly we used for a big war in the middle of the park. It was a great night and finish to a supurb weekend so I'm over the moon at the moment, and I've got an All Blacks game in Whales to look forward to this weekend so life is good. talk to you again soon - russ


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Oldest building in EdinburghOldest building in Edinburgh
Oldest building in Edinburgh

apparently this cathedral was built way back in 1073, and you can still get married in there although it only holds 20 guests.
the big gunsthe big guns
the big guns

those cannon balls way 300pounds each!
then Gav was in the house!!!then Gav was in the house!!!
then Gav was in the house!!!

I met Gav in Canada at the start of the year so it was cool to catch up with him for a couple of hours. thanks for making the effort bro, talk to you soon
then it was pumkin carving timethen it was pumkin carving time
then it was pumkin carving time

none of us had done it before so there was a bit of experimenting going on but we ended up with a couple of pretty cool Punkins to take down to the park
Yeeyaahhhh!Yeeyaahhhh!
Yeeyaahhhh!

how cool are those pumpkins?! and look at the size of those skyrockets we got!!!
me and Timmy with the punkinsme and Timmy with the punkins
me and Timmy with the punkins

and if you look really closely you can see the whitish singe mark on my shoulder where he shot me with a roman candle. good times


2nd November 2005

scotland is just the best!
2nd November 2005

scotland - i'll try this one more time
Hi Russ Well well well, you've discovered my second favourite place in the world - EDINBURGH and Scotland itself. So glad you went there and it's just great that you think it's so neat. As I look at your photos it makes me homesick cos I lived in Edinburgh for a year, and i walked all those streets and saw all those sights. it's just magic isn't it? I think your pics are GREAT. Not sure if you will get these messages. I hope so, but until I see you again 'Och, nay mind the wither. It'll shine again laddie.' Lots of love Francie (your envious aunty who would be over there in a flash if it was the right time to go)
2nd November 2005

comments from one of the swedzzszs
Hi!=) Nice to see you'r still in Europe! Perhaps not to late then to see you before you go back home?!I'v just started university, about two months ago.. behavior science..intresting but I'm not sure if I'm doing the right thing yet=) Any plans to go to sweden?=) you can get really cheap tickets from Luton to Västerås...thats where I live.. I'v been talking to Lina about going to Malin in manchester to visit her..some money problems but who knows mayby we'll come in dec!well.. keep on having a great time!Big hug//Amalia
5th November 2005

hello russ!
hey russ, looks like you had a mad time in yee old scotland, im jealous! hope you are well you sound so happy :) lots of love, michelle :)
9th November 2005

HEy Rusty
Nice roman candle burn bro.......When you coming up again?
9th December 2005

unknown buliding
The 200 ft monument is the 'Scott Monument' relating to Sir Walter Scott.

Tot: 0.446s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 23; qc: 126; dbt: 0.138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb