Much travel but no computers


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 11th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello once again, I am back!

It has been a long bit of travelling and a lot of fun. I would love to tell you everying but too bad! Ha, you will have to ask me. You may be wondering what type of journal doesn't have anything in it and your right, I should tell you a couple of things to keep the hordes of people away from me with pitch forks demanding more, more.

Right.

Lets start of with Edingburg. I met my sister at the airport and dragged her around town, trying to keep her awake. That night we ended up doing the merchant ghost tour which was very neat. We were taken under the city into the vaults which were rather interesting. The guide was good and it was great fun.

The next day we joined the Celtic Conncections tour and hopped into Betty (a small blue bus) and headed to belfast. Seeing the protestant and catholic murals on the walls are scary. Right across the road from a kids playground was a giant mural of masked men carrying machine guns.

Like Scotland, Irland has many myths and legends about its land that adds an added element to its beauty. The story of Finn McCool and how the Giants Causeway was made is neat once you see the land scape.

In cardiff the pubs were the highlight of the tour since everyone you went into had a group of musicians doing jam sessions. Very cool.

After several more days I don't feel like writing down now (although I could talk for hours) we headed back to Edinburg and headed to the Isle of Skye with MacBackpackers. Duncan was our guide for this trip and he was great, we followed no path whatsoever. For the Skye day tour we left the island and headed to Plockton (on the mainland) and boarded Calum's boat for seal watching. While we were about sailing and watching, Duncan and I did a couple of tin whistle duo's with the limited knowlage I had. Fair glen on skye was amazing. Steep green hills with fair rings and tiny doors in the hills. Almost seemed like there was something different in the hills. When I took out my tin whistle it seemed to play itself for a second (probaly the wind but you never know?). We were able to attend the last bit of the piper festival in Portree. It was awsom to see 5 or 6 pipe bands playing in unison.

We returned to Edinburg with many stops on the way, such as Glen Cove, Glen Nevis and Hamish the largest hairy coo in Scotland. We walked around the town the next day.

Whoo, that was a mouth full only covering 10 percent of my trip. If you have any questions feel free to ask. I may sort out some details when I have time but I may just be lazy. My sister and I will head to London tomorrow and we will see what there is to be seen there.

Ha ha
Cheers

Advertisement



18th July 2005

Sister says "What fun!!!"
Hey there: You forgot to mention all of the long, wet, but amazing hikes we took in Ireland, and the sheep skeleton separated from it's fleece in Scotland in the Highlands! Don't you just love cute, "little" Hamish, the biggest hairy coo in all of Scotland?

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb