One Last Day...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 13th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Oi

I have finally returned to London, the big giant city in the England. I am rather disapointed at this fact because it means that I will be returning home shortly (ie. tomorrow) and as can be imagined, I'm rather grumpy about it. Went to back to the Jesmond Hotel in Bloomsbury to stay and some of the guy's almost jumped out of their skin because they were not expecting to see me. But it was nice to talk with them and recount the good old time a wee few months ago where there when 14 students took over the hotel in a sense (great fun).

Decided to go do the touristy thing with my sister and hit the changing of the guard. Now knowing where to stand it was a lot more intersting. The band was very good and it was neat to see and hear all the steps of the soilders in absolute unison.

From there it was of to the the Tower of London, which surprisinly was NOT busy. The guide we had was a great fun guy and gave a very interesting tour. It was amazing to discover that when he pointed out a house with a Winnie the Pooh cookie jar that it was his kitchen. As he pointed this out he also suggested sending him some cookies (something I may take him up on). Unfortinately to get to live at there you have to have served 22 years and have attained the rank of Sergent Major. The crown jewels were very sparkly. I can't think of any better way of describing them. The armoury was very cool, seeing the evolution of armour as the ages went on into gun powder and such.

From there is was a quike nib of dinner and off to join the Jack the Ripper walk. Very informative and neat when the guide took us down little alley ways to establish the mode, but many of the actual sites have such notable buildings as parking garages on them. In hindsight I would have perfered to have toured more period settings and completely forget about the actual sites.

It is an early start tomorrow where I will take my sister to her train to gatwick and zoom (hopefully quickly) to Heathrow. Sounds like fun. Yes? No! I have to stop my vacation now. What's fun about that, other than seeing my family and friends. Ha Ha! So all in all not to bad when you think about it.



Advertisement



13th July 2005

Not that you'll get a chance to read this
But it'll be good to have you both back. Andrew

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb