Edinburgh Wrap up


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 29th 2024
Published: April 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

RoomRoomRoom

There is storage under the bed for suitcases. I just left mine open on the floor and declined room service.
I stayed at the Hub by Premier Inn near Haymarket Station. I chose this hotel due to the inexpensive price and mostly good reviews. It also seemed to be close enough to everything I wanted to see. I did know ahead of time the rooms were compact and my room may not have a window. Fortunately I did have a window and everything I needed in a room. For one person, this room was plenty. I had a double bed and a bathroom which included a large shower. Due to the size of the room the tea/coffee facilities were in the lobby, accessible 24/7. I am not sure if there were larger rooms if traveling as a couple. I would think the room too small for two people plus luggage, but if you don’t mind close quarters it could work. I paid 5 pounds per day for the continental breakfast. Choices were fruit juices, porridge, granola, various breads and spreads, pastries, fruit salad, what seemed like a frozen berry medley that was delicious, yogurt, some kind of museli and Wheatabix. For me this was enough but it may not be for others. The location also turned out to be perfect. Easy
BathroomBathroomBathroom

For the size of the room the bathroom was very spacious!
access to Haymarket Station for trains and just under a half hour walk to the Royal Mile.

Was three days in Edinburgh enough? Yes to get an overview of the city and do one day trip. I recommend visiting the castle on a weekday and the first entry. Visiting Stirling and Linlithgow on a day trip from Edinburgh is a great option. I’m sure there are plenty of other day trips via train that could be done. I see no reason to have a car in Edinburgh, it’s crazy! Between buses, trams, trains and your own two feet you can get anywhere you want to go. Would I go back? Yes!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle

Perfect weather for a last glimpse!
Waverly StationWaverly Station
Waverly Station

The main train station. I could have joined the train at Haymarket and saved walking a half hour but I wanted a good seat


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb