Finding Tranquility and Views in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 28th 2024
Published: April 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last day in Edinburgh. I had no plans so no alarm was set, which was a nice change! After breakfast I headed out towards Dean Village. By Google Maps this was a short .6 mile walk which sounded lovely after doing so much walking the past few days. Being Sunday the streets were pretty empty, although that could also just be the area. My walk took me down by the National Galleries of Scotland: Modern Two. Not my kind of museum but it was by an entrance to the Water of Leith Walkway.

The Water of Leith is the main river flowing through central Edinburgh. The walkway follows it for 12 miles, but I only did a small portion. The path along the river was quiet, peaceful and green. It was nice to be in nature after two days of wandering cities. Shortly after I started my walk I came to Dean Village. Once a milling community, this is now a quiet residential neighborhood where old buildings and cobblestone streets are preserved for visitors and residents to enjoy. There were several other tourists taking pictures and everyone was quiet and respectful. The village does make for some really great photos!

I continued walking along taking in the calm before heading back into the heart of the action. Once off the walkway I headed south and east toward Calton Hill. My walk took me across George Street, a very wide avenue with fancy shops, back to the bustle of Princes Street, past the Balmoral Hotel before finally finding the entrance to the walk up the hill. Word of warning, the climb up is very steep and I had to pause a few times however the views were worth it!

At the top is a collection of monuments, including an unfinished replica of the Parthenon. To me the views were more important than the monuments. I walked all around the top, stopping to put on my gloves and my hood as it was very cold and windy.

Done marveling at the views back towards the castle and out to Leith and the sea I headed back down. And then back to the Royal Mile to poke around in the shops and get lunch. I had a very crispy fish n chips at Lucken Booths where I sat outside despite the chill and the threat of rain. I walked all the way up to the castle and back down to Holyrood. I stopped in at the Edinburgh Museum to learn more about the city. A free museum is always nice! Did a little shopping and then headed back to the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb