Night Out Scottish Style


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I finally had my first real Scottish night out last night. Although I am aware that Glasgow is not the mecca of night life in Europe, it makes Vancouver seem like a small town still under prohibition. There are endless amounts of clubs and bars here versus the 5 “good” ones in Vancouver. We chose to go to a rugby club. I had no idea what that was. I thought it was some stinky extra room connected to the change room but actually it was more like a club house/bar. We were invited by one of our classmates (one of the only guys in the course who also plays rugby and gets smashed every weekend). Sounds like a classic Scottish night to me. The picture of us is taken after we shared a bottle of wine. We were in the “happy” zone by then. Correction, my Scottish roommate “was not wasted by half a bottle of wine” *she forces me to write*. Maybe my alcohol tolerance isn’t the best, but by the end of the night we were BOTH definitely in the “happy” zone.

Arm in arm, Jeanette and I staggered the 15min walk to the bus stop to go
Obscene StickerObscene StickerObscene Sticker

To entice the freshers into going to their clubs the advertisers put up stickers and posters with the most obscene images all over our doors and windows.
to the party. It was a going-away party for my classmate’s roommate. Did I mention it was a costume party? (Or a fancy dress party as the Scottish call it). The theme: cowboys and Indians and everything related. It was so not PC! There were cowboys wearing hats that had the American flag print over it in bright flashy sequins. One guy told me it was natural to wear a hat like that for a cowboy outfit cause that’s where cowboys come from. The mix also included Indian feather headdresses in the American flag colours and Mexican ponchos. Our host friend was a tequila bottle. He actually had a huge foam tequila bottle costume. I’ve now been told that those rugby boys love to be in “fancy dress”. The best costume would have gone to Scarlet O’Hara, an enormous Scottish rugby player who kept hiking up his skirt to show me his legs. I would have liked to have my camera for these perfect picture opportunities but if you could have seen me after a shot of rum and two vodka somethings, it was probably a better idea to leave my most expensive possession behind on this occasion. We ended
Sunday AfternoonSunday AfternoonSunday Afternoon

I know I'm looking pretty minky (Scottish slang for ugly/messed up)
the night at a chippy. I had my first fish and chips. It was definitely a meal that should be saved for only your most wasted state.

It is now Sunday and recuperation day. We went out today in good-ole-Scottish-weather (pouring rain) to the French street market which is only in town for this weekend. We bought wooden roses which you can see in the picture. And our new French roommate bought gourmet French gummy candy for us.

I just took a break from writing this to go take a picture of a fresher playing the bagpipes outside. It seems to be a drunken dare, but he’s still very good. Unfortunately, my camera battery just died. Jeanette and I were wondering if we were having strange Scottish hallucinations last night. At about 4am bagpipe music was blasting for about 1 minute. I know where that came from now. We’ve all grown quite used to the noise of partying freshers by now and just sleep through it but even double glazed windows can’t keep bagpipes from sounding like someone standing beside your bed with a ghettoblaster.

For the “Rate the Fish” entry I will be posting the owners
Posh Gummy CandyPosh Gummy CandyPosh Gummy Candy

Kristina, Karen this one's for you.
of the fish on Sunday the 30th.


Advertisement



25th September 2006

Hansee! I saw jelly babies in the candy store on 4th today! I'm going to go back and buy some this week!! I'm pretty sure those are the same ones you told me about?
25th September 2006

P.S. The posh gummy candy looks the same as regular candy! Pshaw!
25th September 2006

hey hey
Hey Hansee just policing the blog making sure your keeping it real and not misrepresenting my beautiful country. Im surprised youve not mentioned the numerous firemen visits yet! I really dont see us finishing this course with all the time we spend on the blog! love ya J x
28th September 2006

No wonder you sleep @ uni!
You guys are having way too much for for this course :-) Will have to run to catch up with you two @ the Christmas night out!!! Have fun, see you Monday :-)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb