The Freshmen move in


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 17th 2006
Published: September 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is officially the beginning of freshers week. All the people who are planning to live on campus (usually freshmen) move in either yesterday or today. And for the next whole week they have no classes or responsibilities except to party like they’re 18 years old and away from mum and dad for the first time. The Union which is supposed to be a student’s union is more like party hub with 9 floors of clubs and bars. The freshmen can buy a gold card for almost $100 to get into the club nights for free all year and get discounts on drinks. I think I’ll have to go buy those ear plugs I’ve told to buy for Tuesday. The Union is having a drinking marathon for all day and night, all drinks for 99p (about $2.20 can). I decided to write this entry for the blog when I was sitting here checking my email and a bunch of boys were yelling outside, inviting girls to go out with them. I think they just stuck their heads out the window and started chanting and whistling. Did they succeed, you ask? Yes, they did. I wonder if the dull humdrum of lectures and classes will manage to kill some of their “enthusiasm” or will I be spending the next year trying to dodge couples rutting in the bushes.

In other just as exciting events this weekend, one of our Friday dinner club buddies ate a whole Thai chilly pepper. Every Friday me, my two flatmates, and the Canadian guy who lives right underneath me get together and have a more decent meal than the rest of the week. This week one of the girls made fajitas and because both I and the guy downstairs have colds, we got her to chop a Thai chilly pepper and fry it with our meat. I didn’t feel the heat so much this time but I know last time I cooked with the pepper it was like unleashing pepper spray in the kitchen/living room and we had to air it out for a few hours. So I guess it’s the luck of the draw with those peppers. Some can be ridiculously hot and some not so much. The guy downstairs, who we can call Ryan, decided to eat a pepper thinking it would clear up his sinuses. I warned him but then told him to let me get my camera out first if he was really going to be such a fool. He said later when he could talk again that he had heard of that kind of heat before but didn’t think it could be true. I’m no expert on chilly peppers but for people who don’t normally eat spicy foods I think the Thai pepper can seem like death. He said he was surprised by the actual physical pain it caused. It didn’t do anything for his sinuses.




Advertisement



17th September 2006

I once ate a hot chilly whole after someone bet me a pint of beer i wouldn't do it. I spent a good ten minutes with my tongue in a pint of ice, it was that hot. The pint was not worth it!!
17th September 2006

Mark told me that after the first time eating hotpot in china the whole inside of his mouth peeled out the next day.
18th September 2006

Hey Hansee!!!! I like your blog, kinda makes me feel like I'm living vicariously through you..:) I like the pictures, keep em' coming.
21st September 2006

Ryan cryin', no big surprise.
Hello there Hansee. I am Richard, a friend of Ryan's and former bandmate. I really enjoyed seeing those pictures of Ryan having a tough time with the hot pepper. But I must tell you that it's certainly not the first, and won't likely be the last, time that Ryan has cried over something that the average bloke enjoys. Once I borrowed a book of Georg Trakl poems from Ryan. I was supposed to return it to him 7 days later at our weekly "buddies out for shakes" meeting, where we'd hook up to chat about ourselves and such. Well, I had innocently forgot about the book of poetry, no big deal, right? When Ryan asked me if I had brought his book back for him and I told him that I had plum forgot, he started to fall apart on me in the shake shop. He tried to be strong, I could tell, but he just couldn't fight back the tears. I remember seeing the sides of his lips quiver and his eyes began to go red, not unlike how they probably did when Ryan wept in front of you. His lament grew from a held back snivel into a full out wailing within 50 or so seconds. I could hear a young girl who was sitting at the next table enjoying a waffle-cake ask her mother why that man was keening. She actually leaned over and asked Ryan if he wanted to hold her dolly, as it usually made her feel better when she held her, especially when she had to go to the dentist. I've never seen anyone caterwaul like Ryan does. Anyway, take care of my good buddy and thanks again for posting those pictures for all to see. Odd thing is, they have the opposite effect on me that that little Thai pepper had on Ryan... I can't stop laughing when I see them. hee hee hee
22nd September 2006

Hey I know that guy!
Ryan B.- what have you gone done and did?
22nd September 2006

I will have to ask Ryan about your story. Crying over a book seems even too odd for Ryan. I have to say, though, that i've only known him for six weeks and he does at random times reveal strange little bits about his past.
24th September 2006

Hotpot was lush!! Wow, I so remember having so many good hotpots!! Do you remember the gorgeous quail egss? I miss those. I've hunted out a Chinese supermarket in Gloucester for you too - we can do some cooking!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb