Arrival/1st day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
March 25th 2005
Published: March 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well. The adventure is off to a rocky start.

I was completely stupid on several counts and am now in Bergamo airport, hoping against hope that I can get my standby flight to Newcastle, three hours after I was expecting to be in Glasgow. I will be on the plane when I wanted to be on the train to Glencoe. At least if I get this flight, they wont charge me another 60 euro. Oh well, learning experience. Remember when I said I had managed to not get into any more scrapes. I think this counts as a Scrape.

By the way, a taxi ride from Milano to Bergamo on a non-Easter weekend day is normally forty minutes, and about 70 euro. On Good Friday, it is an hour and fifteen minutes, and 85 euro. Thats about a hundred dollars. I'm telling you now so you don't find out the way I did. For those with more than a few brain cells devoted to planning ahead, the train is 35 minutes and costs 3.50. At least Ryan air was helpful, even tho I've heard horror stories from other people.

...

Well I got the flight, even though it was two hours delayed. Then a string of really helpful people, and the near miraculous catching of the last train to Glasgow (I arrived at the train station ten minutes before it left). I met two guys who had missed, and then caught, the same flights I had, and we ended up sharing a cab to the West End. I love my guest-house, its a great deal for 25 sterling- free use of the DVD library, private room (with a better bed than mine in Milano) and most of all, quiet! I watched some terrible British show and then finally conked out around 23.30. On to Arran!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb