24 hour travel home day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
August 23rd 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Glasglow AirportGlasglow AirportGlasglow Airport

Waiting for our flight to USA
Early (5:30 am) start we load luggage on to coach. Ride to Glasgow, get off coach, get baggage, and get in long disorganized line. From that moment till we we were settled in our seats on the airplane - I HURT! Carrying baggage, walking long distances, and standing in long line made the aching worse! Once the airplane was in the air I fell asleep - blessedly.

I woke up for dinner on the plane and was told I would have a "diabetic" meal. "I didn't request it." I said to the stewardess. She said "That's OK." So I had a "diabetic" meal that was actually good - pot roast (trimmed of fat), vegies , new potatoes, sm salad and fruit cup. - for once "diabetic" turned out to be good for me - better than the other menu. Then I went back to sleep for many hours - 4, I'm told.

In PHILA we go through US Customs & Immigration, pick up our bags, and go through security (AGAIN!!) Now we're waiting the flight to PDX. Thank goodness for a 5 to 6 hour lay over. A chance to get through all the lines and without worrying about
US AirwaysUS AirwaysUS Airways

"our"plane in PHILA getting ready for cross country flight to Portland
making the next flight. We also re-group and have another meal before boarding the 5 hr cross country flight.

In Portland we called David and he came to pick us up - home to Longview. To bed at 1:00am - a long traveling day. Tomorrow we do nothing but sleep and rest! Welcome Home!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

more waitingmore waiting
more waiting

waiting and eating another meal before flight
So nice to sit downSo nice to sit down
So nice to sit down

Mary VanSicle & Mike McElliott


5th September 2009

Hi Marty and John, Marty, I have enjoyed each of your travel blogs. I am thinking that my comments were not sent properly as I was thanked only tonight..... Your coverage was just wonderful! The details and the fun and the sharp pictures of everything made the trip a TRIP for me, too. Can you consolidate the entries into one nice video diary for you to keep? Welcome home. Carolyn
12th September 2009

Thanks
Marty and John, thanks for including us in your recent travel. It was a great trip and we enjoyed your adventures. Jackie

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb