The first week here


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Andrea's Exchange


Hello everyone
Sorry this has taken so long for me to post but the internet here is not easy to access and it randomly cuts out sometimes .
So I have been in the beautiful city of Glasgow for just over a week now and its been excellent everyday. I started out by staying the the Travel Inn for 4 nights after a long flight over from Calgary. My first few days were filled with exploring my new home and meeting with other exchange students. My first weekend here involved a trip to the more eastern city of Edinburough. A friend from France was doing a work term over there so he was able to show me around. Its a very different city from Glasgow- there are more old building there and alot less shopping.

I moved into my residence on Monday and hae been loving it ever since. I have one Canadian roommate (Lauren) and 2 spanish girls (Mara and Carmen). We also having another girl living here for a while who is from Australia (Kate). My room is much nicer then expected and my own bathroom is definitly a plus! I started class this Tuesday and have found there are alot of diffrerences from the U of C. The professors are always late for classes and no one really shows up. The pretty much just read right off their overheads so its kindof a waste of time. I still have not registered for my classes but I have 2 weeks to make my final choice.

Last night was the first International Students Night. Every wednesday the school picks a pub that all the students meet at and have a few drinks! Its a great way to meet new people and try out the local beverages!

Well it now time for me to go eat some dinner so I am going to say goodbye for now! I still havent tried any Hagis since I have been here but as soon I as do I will let you all know how good it really is???!

Take care....
Andrea




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



27th January 2006

HELLO GLASGOW!
HEY -- Looks like your havin an awesome time!! I'm jealous of you!! Rain yet over there?? I'm not sure how this comment thing works--does everybody get to see it?? Try Iron-bru yet?? Its the cola of choice over there--not my pick but whatever! I'm very impressed with the first blog and pics keep em coming! ciao love ya remember to represent!! Amanda
30th January 2006

Hey Girl!
It is awesome to see pics and hear what is going in your life in Scotland. Keep the blog going for sure! Sounds like you are enjoying yourself so far which is awesome! Best wishes to you! Miss you lots but know that you are having an experience of a lifetime! Take care girl! Enjoy!

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb