My First Week In Glasgow, Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
February 28th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

1st Train Ride with Dana1st Train Ride with Dana1st Train Ride with Dana

Feb 23rd was my first full day in Glasgow. Dana and Paige took me on the train to town.
How's it going everyone? Hope everyone's doing good. I can't believe I've been here for 5 days already. That's crazy. The weekend went by so fast, and we packed a lot into it.

On Friday we went to town on the train. The train is kind of like our sky train but faster and a lot more of them. I definitely could get lost. I didn't realize how old the city was until we started looking at all the buildings. Its pretty neat. We walked through George Square and went inside the City of Chambers, we walked through the Museum of Modern Art. That was pretty cool and really different. We walked down what they call the Peoples Street, probably the best street for me to be on cause I can't get hit by a car because I looked the wrong way. We stopped at the travel agent and booked a trip to Spain. We leave March 24th and home the 27th. We are going to Salou, its on the coast and the weather should be pretty good. We got our flight, half board which is breakfast and dinner and accommodation for 134 pounds. Not too bad. My uncle went to Spain for the weekend with 20 of his mate and he said it was so hot that he had to buy flip flops. So that's good news for us. Auntie Karen had work people over for a gathering and man are they funny when they drink also really hard to understand.

Saturday, Auntie Karen took us for a hour and half walk around the neighborhood. I wouldn't be able to do it myself cause all the houses look the same. I'd get lost for sure. It also rained the whole time we walked. Apparently that's what it does here. You luck to see sun for an hour each day. They also have some pretty interesting street signs like 20s PLENTY. Saturday night we went to Mag's and Billy's for dinner and Mag's and I had a bottle and half of wine. They were super nice and we were having a disagreement on how to say aluminum. They say it so funny over here and say that we changed the saying of it. It was so funny. After dinner we headed back to Central Station and walked around looking at all the clubs. There's so many and Dana and Paige had never been to a club so we went to The Garage. It was so much fun and really different. There was three floors and each floor played different music. It was so packed full of people that you couldn't even move. We learn't very quickly that you can't flag down a taxi you have to stand in line and wait for your turn.

Yesterday I happened to sleep till 1pm. I could't believe it since I haven't slept that long in a long time. I must of needed it. Dana woke me up for lunch. We went back into town and just strolled around looking in all the different shops at all the fashion. Its so different here. We are quite behind. On our way back to the train station we stopped at Molly Molones for a pint and shared some food. That was my 1st pint in my 1st pub here. It was all really good.

Today we are going to visit my Auntie Margaret and then going to the West side to walk around. Apparently it is beautiful and we are going to go through the oldest house in Glasgow. Tomorrow we are going to Edinburgh for the day and on early Thursday morning we leave for Ireland. YA

Well I attached some photos for you all to see what I've been seeing. Hope they work. Keep sending me emails updating me on everything. Miss you all.

Lots of Love
Kel


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Argyll StreetArgyll Street
Argyll Street

This is what they call People's Street cause there's no vehicles allowed on this road. It gets pretty busy.
The Garage Night ClubThe Garage Night Club
The Garage Night Club

This was Dana and Paige's first night in a night club. It was packed as you can see. Pretty cool to say that your first night club was in Glasgow.
My 1st Pint in GlasgowMy 1st Pint in Glasgow
My 1st Pint in Glasgow

This was taken in Molly Molones Pub. We stopped to have a pint and a snack.
Queen Street StationQueen Street Station
Queen Street Station

Dana and I goofing off in Queens Street waiting for the train.
Weird Street SignsWeird Street Signs
Weird Street Signs

Glasgow has some interesting street signs heres a few that we've seen so far.
University of GlasgowUniversity of Glasgow
University of Glasgow

Haven't had a chance to go up to the university however hopefully soon we will have time.
Caravan No 10 Caravan No 10
Caravan No 10

This van was used in the Peace Campaign and now it is in the Museum of Transportation.
OOPS!!!OOPS!!!
OOPS!!!

This is Paige sitting on a Out Of Order toilet. It was her idea not ours but it was pretty funny.
Do Not TouchDo Not Touch
Do Not Touch

I'm not actually touching anything I'm just standing in the frame!!!
Popeye and Going to MarsPopeye and Going to Mars
Popeye and Going to Mars

What a bunch of goofs!!! Likely we didn't get kicked out.
Oldest Bike In The WorldOldest Bike In The World
Oldest Bike In The World

It was made of wood.
Kelvingrove Art Gallery Kelvingrove Art Gallery
Kelvingrove Art Gallery

This is what you see as you walk into the gallery.
Floating HeadsFloating Heads
Floating Heads

In one section of the muesum there's all these floating heads and if you look close they are all different faces.
Biggest crabBiggest crab
Biggest crab

This is the biggest crab in the world. kinda creepy to see that in the water.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb