Kyle of Lochalsh to Portree, Isle of Skye,Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Portree
July 7th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 57.4131, -6.19377

Portree, Isle of Skye, Scotland

When we got close to town about 5:12 p.m. the sky had cleared up for the most part and the ground looked like it had not rained at all here. People were walking around without coats even though it was still very windy and only 54º F! And this is the type of weather they have in the middle of summer!! We pulled up to the town center to get our overnight bags and walked a very short distance up the street to our hotel, the Tongadale Hotel. The keys for the rooms were in the doors. I am back to sharing a room tonight since they did not have any more space available. Oh joy! L We had about 30 minutes to look around town and then we sat for dinner at 6. I got vegetable soup and some type of beef in wine sauce with carrots and green beans. The waitress brought out a large container of potatoes for us to share at the table. I skipped on the desserts due to not feeling well. I don't know if I'm tired from the drive or from not having any down time from traveling like we did in Edinburgh. But I didn't go with everyone else on the almost 2 hour drive around a part of the island. It was raining when they left, and I didn't want to view another “misty” hill through rain-lashed windows until tomorrow. So, I headed back up to the room to finish blogging for the day. While downstairs in the bar, I asked the manager/barkeep if there is wifi. This place, although it is out of the way and on an island, has free wifi! Unfortunately, when I tried to log on, its down. So once again I will have to wait until we get into Glasgow tomorrow to log on all the pictured since Edinburgh. Its about 8:30 p.m. and it is pouring outside! I am glad I decided not to go on the bus trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb