My Mate Nessy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Loch Ness
September 11th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Stairway to the Atlantic OceanStairway to the Atlantic OceanStairway to the Atlantic Ocean

These locks were built big enough for the military ships of the time.
From Skye I made a swift coach journey to the famous Loch Ness. I had been here before as a young lad but have few vivid memories. Naturally Nessy was pleased to see me after all these years. There were no buses so I hitch hiked to the Falls of Foyers. It was little more than a trickle compared to other times of the year but still quite a cute looking waterfall and complimented by pretty surroundings and a nature walk through the woods down to the village of Foyers. I tried to scrounge a lift on a river cruiser from the local harbour back to Fort Augustus without success. The two groups of boaters I managed to befriend were heading the wrong way. Others I suspect were respectfully trying to enjoy their short holiday, time away by themselves or perhaps just didn't like the look of me!

Fort Augustus is another very pretty place. The Caledonian Canal and its stairway of locks help connect the Atlantic to the North Sea through the Great Glen. The locks at Fort Augustus are all motorised but passengers are still expected to pull their boats through from one lock to the next. There
Sail Boat on Loch NessSail Boat on Loch NessSail Boat on Loch Ness

Behind is the abbey which unfortunately is no longer open to the public.
is something I find fascinating about watching the boats climb this stairway, I could probably have watched them all day. But my time here was limited and I decided to take the Loch Ness Express to Inverness. This small aluminium boat is light, carries 36 passengers, kicks out around 700bhp and covers the length of Loch Ness at impressive speed. I was lucky to get a ride as I found out a coach load of people booked the boat and my seat had been over sold. Luckily a few dropped out and I was able to share the experience with a boat load of old ladies and gentlemen who were in fact a very lively and funny bunch of pensioners, obviously enjoying themselves and helped on by two very funny guys who were running the Express service.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Falls of FoyersFalls of Foyers
Falls of Foyers

This plaque marks the top of the falls and steep incline from the town below.
The FallsThe Falls
The Falls

Even though it rained the night before it wasn't exactly roaring today.
Valley at FoyersValley at Foyers
Valley at Foyers

Some great views can be had from the Falls over looking the valley
Busy BeeBusy Bee
Busy Bee

Lots of wildlife were buzzing around the woods near Foyers
Hostel BarHostel Bar
Hostel Bar

I chill out in the evening at the hostel bar with a friend I met that day.
Urquhart CastleUrquhart Castle
Urquhart Castle

On the banks of Loch Ness. According to the film Loch Ness, Nessy lives in a secret underwater cavern.
A Mad TwosomeA Mad Twosome
A Mad Twosome

These guys seem to really enjoy running the Loch Ness Express service and they couldn't have been more helpful.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb