Skye is the limit


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Isle of Skye
September 9th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Portree from the HarbourPortree from the HarbourPortree from the Harbour

I would have liked to seen more quaint little sea side towns like this one.
Next I stayed in Portree on the Island of Skye. It took a 1.5 hr ferry ride from Tarbert on Lewis. Portree is a very pretty sea side town, clean, tidy, full of shops and churches. I stayed in a lovely hostel which looked brand new and had excellent cooking facilities. The supermarket was a 20 minute hike away but that is really nothing that I'm not getting used to by now, although I have to admit my arms felt like they would drop off by the time I got back - never go shopping when a) your hungry and b) you have to carry your shopping several miles home.

I took a walk recommended to me by the guy running the hostel through a valley off Sligachan just south of Portree. And it doesn't take long to get off the beaten track. Without a doubt the waterfalls in the river running down the mountain and the views from top of the valley were worth the pain I received in my knees on the way down. I figured out that I really needed these high tech walking poles that everyone else seemed to be using except me. I did meet
Portree HarbourPortree HarbourPortree Harbour

A view out of the Harbour at Portree
the odd person during my walk, one guy was effortlessly running up steep slopes that I struggled to walk let alone run. Another guy was a semi professional photographer I ended up talking to for a good while. You can't help being friendly when you hardly see anyone.

I attempted to hitch a ride back to Portree but I soon discovered my legs weren't going to take it and 2 minutes later a bus came along and saved me. Fortunately they will just stop in the middle of the road for you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Valley Walk at SligachanValley Walk at Sligachan
Valley Walk at Sligachan

The river, water fall and backdrop of mountains says wow to me.
Secret WaterfallSecret Waterfall
Secret Waterfall

I accidently took the wrong track and cross country I found this small gorge.
More water?More water?
More water?

I never got bored of these cool falls breaking up the flow of the river down the mountain.
Down the mountain here we comeDown the mountain here we come
Down the mountain here we come

My knees are starting to give up on me by this point so I stopped to take in the view.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb