Eilean Donan Castle to Fort William, Scotland


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 56.8165, -5.11208

About 10:30 we passed Loch Garry which outline is similar to the map of Scotland. I was able to grab a fairly good picture of it since we couldn't stop due to all the other cars and buses already parked there. About 11 we stopped at the Commando Memorial near the town of Spean Bridge. Our guide asked us to see if we could identify which statue of the three men could see the farthest. When I got up there, many of them were discussing the way the men were looking or that none of them had glasses. That's when I noticed that one of the statues had a pair of binoculars around his neck. And that was the answer! The weather so far has been just like yesterday, spots of rain, spots of mist, spots of sun, and many clouds. We then headed for Fort Williams taking a road that was nominated as the 2nd Best Scenic route in Scotland (I didn't notice anything special.) We took an hour lunch break in the town of Fort Williams. I finally found a turkey sandwich and had a scone (very large biscuit). We didn't got to the town's center due to the rain, so I didn't get to go to the bank. I asked one of the cashiers if there was any bank or post office nearby. There wasn't but she could give me change in English money if I pay for something in American money. So I bought 2 postcards, gave her a $20 and got back £ 11.65! I keep forgetting how bad he exchange rate is here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb