Teawig


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Beauly
September 7th 2013
Published: September 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is probably not going to be uploaded on time. I’ve been leaving these late. I suck.



So today we went to Teawig, the family farm up in Beauly, near Inverness.



To get there, we got up at eight. In the AM, the travesty.



We walked to the train station and hopped on the next train to Inverness. We got first class tickets so we got a compartment all to ourselves. It was very Harry Potter, only there wasn’t a nice old lady selling sweets from a trolley.



After getting to Inverness, we got very non-specific directions to the bus to Beauly, which was due in an hour.



To kill time, we got some food (chicken nuggets and chips, thank you very much) and walked around a bit.



We headed to the bus stop about fifteen minutes early so we’d be sure to get there on time in case we got lost. Which we did. So we went back to the bus station and got very different directions to the same place and by piecing the two sets of instructions together, we figured out where to go.



The bus dropped us off five minutes outside the farm. It was a lovely and quick walk, during which I was reminded of how much I genuinely love that part of the world.



We stopped in at the shop Mandy, a cousin, now owns called Patches Corner(s. It’s a lovely wee shop that sells fabric and all kinds of knick knacks for the sewing enthusiast.



After that, we made it to the farm. Pam, the aunt, didn’t recognise us as she thought we’d be driving. She also hoped we’d stay the night and was very disappointed when we didn’t. It was very sweet. She let me feed a lamb! And I got to pet pigs and goats and a donkey and a dog and a cat and I was very happy.



She took us inside and promptly started feeding us.



She didn’t stop feeding us until it was time to leave several hours later. And even then she gave us snacks to eat on the train back. It was all very nice.



I really like Teawig and they all made sure that I knew I was welcome there whenever I wished; all I had to do was call up and they’d get me from the train station.





It’s really great knowing that I have back up, in case I need it. They really do feel like family.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb