Meeting the beautiful sights of Northern Ireland


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Heading up the Antrim coast, we stopped at an awe-inspiring site of a ruined, roofless castle clinging on a cliff! It reminded me of Dunnottar Castle in Scotland with the dramatic setting. It was only a photo stop for a few minutes but I knew that I would be back someday to explore it. Dunluce The first castle built here was by Richard de Burgh in the 1200's. In 1513 it was owned by the McQuillan family then later was the home of the chief of the Clan MacDonnell and the Clan MacDonald of Donnyveg. Part of the kitchen collapsed into the sea below taking some servants during a storm in 1639. It was then that the castlle was abandoned. Dunluce was also on an inner album cover of Led Zeppelin's Houses of the Holy. Even though ruinous, this castle was one of my favorite sites in all of Ireland!

Next on our tour was the basalt columns of GIANT'S CAUSEWAY which is the result of a volcanic eruption. There are about 40,000 columns that lead into the sea and cliffs on the other side. There is a rock that is shaped like a boot called THE GIANT'S BOOT and
Closer lookCloser lookCloser look

at the remains
an area into the cliff that is called the PIPE ORGAN. It's also pretty windy here and it's awesome to walk on top of the columns. I personally liked sitting on them and taking in the surrounding sites with the wind blowing in my face! Another area to add for the list of laces to explore at a future date. So, with my 2 cameras and endless bag of film I took many (like 2 rolls of film) pictures here which I am posting most of them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

PosingPosing
Posing

I had to get my picture in front of it
Giant's CausewayGiant's Causeway
Giant's Causeway

Basalt columns
the edgethe edge
the edge

of Dunluce
meme
me

Giant's Causeway
one of a few pathsone of a few paths
one of a few paths

around the causeway


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb