14 HOUR JOURNEY Inverness to Belfast


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well today I woke up around 7 to make it to my bus. I couldn't miss the first step of my trip!! They told me yesterday all I needed was my confirmation number and that I didn't need to print out my tickets because it was closed anyway!! Thank god...anyways walking around town everyone was still major hung because nothing but tourists were out yet and NO shops for something to eat. My first bus ride was gonna be 4 and half hours so I needed to get something in me. I kept walking all around town but couldn't find shit.
McDonalds oh glorious McDonalds haha it was the only thing open before 9 and my bus left at 8!!
I ended up meeting the ppl from France who stayed with me at the hostel. They couldn't pay cash for their tickets so they were hoping to get my bus down to Perth to transfer to Glasgow. They were in luck cause it worked. The bus driver was quite the character too super funny.
The time actually passed really fast. Ass got a bit numb after 3 hours but I got up and had a piss, then I was good to go for the the rest of er. Got into Edinburgh and I didnt know where the station was. Turned out it was all the way across town but I had to RUN to the hostel with my bag and all and see if I could find this jacket I had misplaced. I didnt think anyone at the hostel would have taken it so I had to see if I could find it. Thank god someone was looking over me then. I found the hostel and it my jacket was hung up in the tv room. People really are good if you give them a chance. I mean tonsa assholes as well but mankind has really impressed me lately. I ran back to the hostel after getting my coach surfing contacts number (Tobias which i arranged the night before!!) and managed to grab a couple post cards in a book store on the way. Perfect timing really managed to be just in time for a window seat for the 3 hour journey to Stranraer where the ferry was to Belfast. Sat beside this antisocial chick who was upset she couldn't sit beside her bf. I was about to move to his seat but i figured screw it!!!! Listened to tunes the whole way. Got some rest as well because it wasn't as scenic as I hoped.
Got to the ferry dock and was dropped off by the driver. It smelt like some serious sewage here TERRIBLE. 2 hrs till we left so I set off to see the town and grab some food. Managed to find a chippy where a guy from the bus saw my flag and started chatting to me. His name was John and he was from the South. Super nice guy. I got an order of fish and some haggis to try again. This time they deepfried the shit out of it. Didnt taste good at all. Soooo much grease. There goes P90 ha.
Loaded up on the ferry and John and his Gf ended up chatting with me the whole time. Really nice people too. They told me about Hurling which is a unique sport in Ireland. Gotta check it out sometime, he even offered to take me to a game in Dublin if we could arrange a time cause they only play like once a week. I was stoked about that. Not sure if it will happen but I really hope so. Culture thats what im looking for not some cheesy tourist crap.
Got into Belfast docks around 1000 and jumped on the bus into town. No checking tickets or anything here it was hillarious. We got off at Europa station and they let me use their phone to get ahold of Tobias cause i had no clue where to go. Managed to get ahold of him on the second try. Thank god he told me where to go and we said our goodbyes. They got my email so I was to hear back from them hopefully. Kinda scetch actually because I knew that Belfast had quite a violent past and here I was walking through the streets map in hand backpack on not knowing really where the hell I was going. Eventually found the street where he lived on Donnegal Pass only like 8 min walk and saw quite a few murals on the way. I wasnt sure if this was like a slum or anything so I just kept walking pretty fast. Cop shop had barb wire all over it and it was fenced in for petrol bombs and what not. Turns out the pub that he said was across the street was a head Protestant Gang bar where there were torturings and everything but I found it. A girl answered the door named Pamela and made me a cup of tea while she explained to me what happened to Tobias. Turns out that he was drunk as a skunk and was passed out in bed cause he was in the booze after taking a break for like 3 weeks!!! Hillarious then the other guy who was staying with him came home, Thomas from Germany. It was almost midnight so he set up the inflattable mattress and i took the coach. Night night pretty funny situation but I was safe and sound and now in Ireland!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

loungelounge
lounge

everyones just drinking there faces
shit shot shit shot
shit shot

it was tough but u get the idea


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb