First Race Abroad


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Antrim
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all! I hope that all is well with you and yours as you read this entry. It has been an exciting week here in what is my home for the next year. As you read in my previous entry, classes are underway and promising to be both challenging and enlightening. Speaking of which, this week we are discussing the period known as the Enlightenment. In preparation we have been reading some very well known, and controversial, philosophers; Kant, Foucault, and Horkheimer. The argument we are seeking to address is whether or not the Enlightenment was really all it has been claimed to be. Or did we simply trade one form of metaphorical imprisonment for another? I have very definite thoughts and beliefs regarding this question, however, you will have to drop me an e-mail to discuss that as I attempt to keep this a relatively objective blog, one that does not offend people, at least not until you ask me my what it is I believe.

However, the big news from the weekend is that I competed in my first race abroad. I took part in the Bangor 10k along with my teammates from Abbey Athletic Club. It was a very positive first showing. I ended up finishing 29th out of 321 racers, and running as the fourth man for the club. There were some solid competitors there to say the least. Joe McAllister, who I was told is the fastest 10k'er in Ireland, won the race in a few ticks over thirty minutes. I think he was having a smooth go of things, however, as he has run under twenty-nine minutes on the roads before. My teammate, Paul Pollock finished in sixth with a time of 32:42. As a club we finished in fourth place. I am not certain but I believe there were nineteen racing clubs represented. I apologize that I do not have a picture to post with this entry. However, our post race team photo was cancelled after the rains came. My next race will be this coming Saturday at the Wallace Park Relays in Lisburn.

So with that said, I wish you all a very good start to the new week. I may be heading north to the Giant's Causeway on Thursday. If so I will certainly add a new post shortly thereafter. Take care!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb