Homeward bound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 12th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it's over.... my six weeks has spun by & I'm heading home tomorrow😞

The wedding on the weekend went really well. Father Bob managed to contain himself & did not continue to do his impersonation of Rowan Atkinson in Four Weddings and a Funderal as he had the previous evening - at least I think he was trying to impersonate him - either way he was bloody funny.

It was a traditional English wedding - where they don't hold hands or kiss in the church - what's that all about? The organist played variations on the theme of Waltzing Matilda while we waited for the bride - we all laughed out loud at this. Some fantastic words were used throughout the ceremony - my personal favourite.... 'betwixt'... I think it was used at least twice!

Anyway it all went off without a hitch - the sun shone, the bride was on time, vows were exchanged, register was signed, bells were rung, pictures were taken, cheeks were kissed, confetti was thrown, wine was drunk, food was eaten, speeches were spoke, dances were boogied, cakes were cut, veils were trod on, fascinators facsinated, bushes were weed on & I'm sure someone vomited at some stage (actually I think it was the 4 month old at the church).

The day after we had a BBQ at Louise's dads places & watched the final of the World Cup - it was a good thing that Matt & I bought our ITALIA tops earlier that week!! We farewelled Matt & Louise as they headed off to moon in France.

I jumped on a train & headed down to Bath to visit an old buddy I used to work with in London. We resumed our friendship right were it ended - with a bottle of wine, some food & lots of talking & laughter. We did the obligatory visit to the Roman Baths (she works there so I got a private tour) and the Royal Crescent & sneeked into the swanky hotel there for a peek... let's just say I don't think that hotel will ever be on any of my itineraries.

So I returned to London today, washed Cabra Loca (for Mr Quarantine) and put her travelling suit on - we all sat down to watch Stage 10 of the Tour de France ... it feels like a year since I was on my bike ... did I really cycle the width of Spain? It seems so long ago & I can barely remember it... that's so sad... not only because those memories aren't so fresh, but it just highlights how crap my memory is - both long term & short term - they need to get cracking on that Alzheimers cure! Thank goodness for the blog I say - by the time I get home I'll barely recall why I'm walking out of Tullamarine airport & why I'm toting some very heavy bags???

I'll do a post travel blog.... well I'll post some choice photo's up in the gallery.

I may also write a blog about the Pearl Festival performance I've got coming up at the beginning of September in Broom. For those of you that didn't know I've got a Taiko gig up there for a few days (yeah for me again!!!) And I'm threatening to compete in the Murray River Rowathon in October (92km in one day - ouch!) so may blog that as well?? If you're totally sick of me by now... just unsubscribe... I won't be offended!!

So adios amigos... hasta ... something or other....??? Ah bugger it... see ya at home (and for my new travelling buddies... I'll see you on the road sometime!!)

PS Weather report - it's been great - warm to hot most days.... some days of drizzle but not scary enough to make you bring your washing in from the line!


Advertisement



13th July 2006

so some days of drizzle huh
need more info on that one baby!!! Glad all went well for the big day and that you ahve obviously had a fab time. You will be glad to get home as so much has happened here. NOT IWll tell you all my exciting news when you get here!!! NOT
13th July 2006

Nice to read you
13 July 2006 Dear Ange Just to say thank you for your travel news. I have been pleased to read the updates, and apologise for my silence. Lots to tell, but now is not quite the time. I am working at a summer school for two weeks, and it is making me reassess my future in the long term. Nothing alarming but needs some thinking out. Off to the Cambridge Folk Festival on 27 of July for four days of musical magic. Will write to your e-mail address as soon as practical. Lots of love and enjoy home! Gillian
13th July 2006

Its quicker by bike!
9.25 pm 13.7.06 still stuck on M.25 after Heathrow run,(next time we all cycle) luv u farewell my friend from both of us here until we meet againx

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb