Killing the jet lag!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
May 26th 2011
Published: May 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I haven't yet mentioned my new friend Ang yet, strangely enough we were seated on the plane together coming from Abu Dhabi to London. She is from Sydney and moved to London in October last year. It was nice to be seated next to someone that you can actually have a conversation with and think wow this girl is really nice I want to be friends with her. The weirdest part about the whole thing, she lives in the next suburb were I'm staying!
So we exchanged details and arranged to meet up for drinks on Thursday night at the Beaten Docket on Kilburn High Road. It was her boyfriend's last night of working there, one drink lead to another and one by one the staff started knocking off. It was midnight when the 6 of us left the pub, well on my way to the other side of being tipsy we went to a few different places, names I do not remember. Ang's friends were lovely and very down to earth and I found them quite easy to get along with, much like Ang herself. It was a great night out and and I really felt like this group of people took me in under their wing and looked after me.
Suddenly I'm on a bus and we get off and go to this Greek restaurant, they must have been regulars there as they were greeted by the owner with a familiar friendly smile. So grilled Greek cheese in Melbourne is called Saganaki, but here it is called halloumi. When I was explaining this no one believed me, even the people from Sydney had never heard of it, this is why I think it must be a Melbourne thing. I don't get it. Any way the halloumi was good 😊
3am rolls round and not knowing how the cab system works over here, they called me a cab and Ang and Shaun were nice enough to share a cab with me so nothing would go wrong. I think I get how the system works, I don't like that there is no meter and that they can charge what they want! Seems a little shadey to me..
I finally killed the jet lag!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb