Nothing new, just working and enjoying!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
February 24th 2005
Published: February 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Al FaridAl FaridAl Farid

Do you like the Moroccan dress?
Nothing quite new here lately, life is carrying on. I'm getting even more acclimated to the city here, probably due to my getting jobs. I had two jobs when I came back from Christmas break. In one I served as a waitress in a Moroccan restaurant called Al Farid in the square of the town Cathedral. It's a great place, to eat that is. There are low tables and cushions for lounging while you smoke water pipes of flavored tobacco and have Moroccan coffee. The ceilings are draped in fabric and candles are lit every night. Working there was not the best decision I've made in my life. At least I found out that I'm not a waitress. When I started tearing up because people were cold and wanted to leave, I knew it was time for me to do the same. It was much too stressful and disorganized. I no longer work there.
I do, however, still work in a shop called Kitsch-U-Like! It's great! It sells retro furniture and also smaller things like original 80s t-shirts and Betty Boop and Marilyn Monroe type bags and pens etc.. My boss knows a lot about the original pin up girl memoribilia and also music, so I'm learning a lot. I also found out that we have the exact same birthday! He is the perfect boss for me because he's extremely relaxed and funny and caring. It's nice to find myself seeping into the community here.
It's a very crowded shop; it's a marvel how we fit thousands of things into such tiny spaces. This probably is the reason why every time you turn around in the store something falls on your head or breaks, but that is what I love about it. It's very charming and painted bright green.
On a last note, I am proud to announce the birth of our very own tomato plant right here in our own flat. That's right, Tom the tomato plant was born a week ago in a dishrag by the sink, sometime in the night. He's a cute little thing and we hope he grows tall and strong. The fact that a plant grew in our dishrag is not gross, it's cool. At least, that's what we tell ourselves. We will inform all of our friends at first harvest so you can be in on the bounty. Until then, Cheers, Georgia*


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My bossMy boss
My boss

Smooth
Kitsch-U-Like!Kitsch-U-Like!
Kitsch-U-Like!

I could sell ice cream to Eskimos!
More Kitsch-U-LikeMore Kitsch-U-Like
More Kitsch-U-Like

So many things!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb