Does anyone ever read the Title???


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 13th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: the men 37 secs
2: the queen 31 secs
3: more men 29 secs
4: fly over 17 secs
prep prep prep

About 2 hours before the parade
so, I guess I should let you guys know whats going on.

I've been in London since Thursday, staying with the Messersmith. I will be flying back home on Monday and will arrive in Maryland at 7:30 pm. So if your a cool person you will be hanging at the airport when I make my grand entrance. I will (should, depends on how many show) have something for everyone. If you don't have friends then bribe people.

Well I got to see the Queen today! I went to the changing of the guard yesterday. To Andrea, they guard the palace and the Queen, not a tomb, so they try to make it look good. Well, I arrived just as it was starting so I couldn't really see anything. I left about half way threw and ask one of the cops if they would be doing it again the next day. He said no because the Queen would be in a parade.

So I went today and watched the parade. I got there two hours early to get a good spot, which I did, in the vary front, because I'm the man. As I was waiting I started talking
where is everyone?where is everyone?where is everyone?

it was strange how quiet it was without cars around.
to an older man who has been coming to this event for years. He was really nice and filled me in on all the "going ons" and also answered a lot of my questions. It turned out to be the anniversary of the Queen getting crowned, and is 1 of only 3 times a year that she has a parade of this scale. So this was a really big deal. She was going to an "Arena place" to inspected a group of soldiers. It switches each year and this year it was the Irish Guard, which happens to be going to Afghanistan in a few months. I'm sure it's tradition more then anything, and it is a honor for the group of soldiers to be inspected by the Queen.

cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the "real" cops show upthe "real" cops show up
the "real" cops show up

best part of the day is when I heard someone say "I'm not used to the cops having guns"
Hey Bobby Hey Bobby
Hey Bobby

"I have TWO guns! How many do you have? I hope no one tries anything because you will not be able to do any thing haha" "go away Jack"
LondonLondon
London

every ten paces on the road.
LondonLondon
London

I know that guy, the one in red.
LondonLondon
London

dudes in skirts


14th June 2009

stayed up late tonight, hoping you'd post :) Wow, how cool are you!! Great picture of the queen ... so close! Can't wait to see you. Maybe we can arrange all the bus riders to show up at the airport ;) I'm sure they can't wait to see you, too!
14th June 2009

Nice timing
What flight number? I was going to hire homeless people to go in my stead .
14th June 2009

MP5's, guys in skirts, men with parade batons, big hats, snipers, royalty
This blog has it all!
14th June 2009

We are all excited about your return. Great fly over picture.
14th June 2009

I read all the titles.
14th June 2009

Prime Meridian: pretty cool!!
14th June 2009

I always read the titles!
15th June 2009

Extra awesome

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb