May 6th & 7th 2009


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
May 7th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday 6th May 2009



So 6am wake up call. Fortunately, I wasn't the first one up. Two girls left at 4.30am!! ARGH and I though I was doing it bad!!

Showered dressed and all bags and suitcases down stairs at the other hostel. Locked and stored ready for me to collect later.

Left for the interview at 7.35am even though only had to go to 4 different stops and change lines. I didn't want to be late and I had no idea where the place was!! Arrived there so early!! Not many people on the tube at all, which was really nice.

I filled in all the paperwork and it was still fairly early. My interviewer was on tube and uncontactable so the receptionist put me on the internet in their office rooms for half an hour or so. So I'm the internet, facebook and hotmail. Checking out the goss. It was a good way to relax for a while.

The man who interviewed me was Vinesh Solanki. Went through the standard procedures of the interview, what I want etc. Had to do an entry test with data entry (copying figures), Word (doing as it says on the instructions, Excel (same as word) and typing. It was pretty full on and I didn't do too badly with everything.

Left there and got pointed in the wrong direction to try and get to the Orientation at BUNAC. So walked around and around and around and finally found where I was going. I seem to be doing a lot more walking around because I keep getting lost. Oh well, at least I'm geting fit.

Arrived about 10am so not a bad effort at all. Orientation was pretty full on. There are so many things that you need to do and fill in, its ridiculous.

I wish I had known some of the things before I left because some of them I could have organised. The session covered everything from work, accomodation and general living. Two hours later in the room the size of well, Jake's bedroom, 25 people emerged and their heads were exploding with all of the information provided.

Able to access my email and missed a call from the agency about the job. ARGH!!! Rang them back but they were all at lunch. At this point I was stressing a bit because I thought 'oh no, I've missed this opportunity'. Was finally about to speak with Susan Guthrie, Vinesh's offsider, about the job. Its a 3-month contract starting in June (approx 19500 pound - works out to about 10 pound an hour roughly), 9-5 Monday through Friday. Sounds perfect for what I need. Arranging another interview for sometime next week. *FINGERS CROSSED*.

Decided it was time to catch the tube back to St. Christopher's The Inn in Southwark and move to St. Christopher's Inn Hammersmith before the masses of people come for peak rush hour, where you can't move on the tube at all.

You should have seen me!! I looked like the world's biggest loser. I had my case, my laptop bag, handbag and a bag full of some of my food that I had bought (vegemite, crackers etc). It was all really, really heavy!! A few people helped me down the stairs (not all stations have elevators) which was really nice but my cases were so heavy!!!

After a long time on the tube, I made it to Hammersmith!! I got off the tube and looked around and I had no idea where St. Christophers was. I asked in a kebab shop and it turned out St. Christophers was just next door. I felt like the biggest loser again!! Twice in one day isn't bad!!

Booked in a got a further 10%!d(MISSING)iscount because I had stayed in The Inn at London Bridge/Southwark! Yah for me!!

Got to the bottom of the hostel and looked up. MORE STAIRS!!! Another guy who had just arrived helped me up with my big case!! Up to the third floor! I can't keep lugging all my stuff up and down all the time, it's going to kill me!! Room 303, Bed 3 - more bunk beds. I'm in a mixed room again which isn't too bad.

Got unpacked and stored all my valuables in the little storage area that they have in the room! Thankfully my laptop fits in there!! Organised a pile of laundry to do within the next couple of days. Went downstairs and found Vanessa on the internet! Yah a person that I know!!! Got to talking with her and then Alan arrived as well. So we decided to go out for dinner, not sure where to but just somewhere for a decent meal. I need my veges!!!!!!

Went to a little Thai place that was really cheap! YAH CHEAP FOOD!!! The food was beautiful and after that I was stuffed!! First time to eat a decent meal and loving it! I was really really really sleeping after that so called it quits and went to bed.

Listened to music and looked at my photos again and then fell asleep! Missing all of you!!

Thursday 7th May 2009



I woke up still kinda early (7am) and met Vanessa and Alan for breakfast. Alan leaves today for the countryside to start his job on the dairy farm. Another person leaves that I got to know. I must really smell!! LOL!!

I don't know if I've described the breakfast here but its pretty basic. You can either have toast or cereal, tea, coffee or sometimes juice. The juice is pretty bad though it tastes like watered down C**P. It's not the best but at least its covered in the price for the room (as is the WiFi!). At least I don't have to pay for the meal - saving some money that way!

After Alan left, Vanessa and I got organised and went to BUNAC to check our mail. By the way if anyone wants to send me mail, please post to;

Rebecca Vasey
C/- BUNAC Incoming Programmes,
16 Bowling Green Lane,
LONDON EC1R 1DF

All my mail gets delivered there and I can check messages as well as free internet. I seem to get a lot of free internet whereever I go, so hopefully I won't need to pay for it ever!

Vanessa went back after checking her mail but I decided to look for more jobs and do some internet stuff!! No surprise there!!

Meeting Nicci Bull and her husband Michael, plus Abby Munro and Rachel Weckert for tea and bowling tonight so that will be fun!!

Looked at the clock and it was like 2pm. I still had to get back through the tube get changed and organised and back to Temple station by 4.30pm. Quickly packed up and got back and organised. I didn't know how long it was going to take so I left quite a bit early than I should have. I'm always early, I try never to be late. Waited in a park nearby which was really pretty, took a couple of pictures for a few people on holiday.

It was so good to see some Naracoorte people! As much as Naracoorte can be really small, its really nice to see people that you know. Went to a little pub where Rachel works and had my first pint. Went to take a sip and split some on myself. It really looked like I had wet myself!! HOW EMBARRASSING!!!!!!!!! Just met some new people and the first impression they have is me spilling my drink! LMAO!!

So talked and talked and talked and talked. Missed dinner and by my 3rd pint, I thought WOW, I'm going to be a bit drink tonight. Got a black cab - so excited!! It was my first ride in one!!!! Just like any other taxi though except they are way cuter. Ill take a picture of one soon and post one up for all to see.

Made it to the place to go bowling and got in for free! Had one of the worst tasting drinks in the world - and I have no idea what it was called. By this time I was feeling a bit ill and hadn't eaten since breakfast so ordered a hamburger and fries.

Got it eventually and couldn't eat it. I'm not the best red meat eater in the world and since not having eaten much meat at all since I've been here I couldn't eat it all!! That really sucked! Ended up getting my jacket and going home because I felt ill.

Made it back to the hostel and chatted to Vanessa for a bit and went to bed. I was so so so tired and a little bit drunk which made sleeping so much better. Oh well tomorrow's another day.














Advertisement



9th May 2009

may 6th blog
lov reading your blog updates - its always good to be early - pleased you have met some nice people - speak to you soon xxxx

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb