London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
April 13th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahh, where to begin? I have taken two big trips since my last blog, so I will split them up into two blogs. Last weekend I went to London with my friends. My language course had ended (passed of course), and then we headed out on Friday evening. A bit of craziness getting there which ended up with us paying a taxi we didn't originally have planed. A 150 euro taxi I might add. But that is neither here, nor there, so we got to the airport (in the middle of nowhere) and got on the plane. Once in England, we had to catch a bus from that airport to the city. Time update: around 1 am at his point. After the bus we couldn't find the hostel, so we had to call the guy there and he ended up having to come out and meet us on the street. But all was well and we made it. Time update: Close to 3 am.

The first day we got up and headed into the city to see Big Ben and such. So we spent a while walking around The Houses of Parliment, and Westminster Abbey, etc. Also had a very good cinnamon sugar crepe on the bridge. The evening was filled with karaoke, and then some dancing. I turned it in at a decent hour (relatively speaking of course).

The next day I slept in a little bit, then went to the British Museum. The Brit Mus is awesome because it has amazing collections of many ancient civilizations. Overwhelming collections. So needless to say I was in the museum for a while and saw some awesome stuff (incl. the Rosetta stone). I believe I actually squeezed in a nap at the hostel after that. Evening activities were finding dinner in chinatown (delicious), and having a stoudt at an old style pub.

The last full day in London we went to the Tate Modern. This museum has a huge collection of modern art incl some Monet, Picasso, etc. Very cool. Almost lost one of our friends in there, but we met up later at the hostel. In the evening we took a walking tour of London called "Apparitions, Alleyways, and Ales." Basically we walked around at night and the tour guy told us some cool ghost stories. 5 Euros, and it lasted like 2 hours, not bad (esp in London). Since we were leaving the hostel at 4 am the next morning for our flight, I decided to not go out and stay up all night. In retrospect, very glad I made that decision. Needless to say, the long way back was not fun.

Well, it is almost 12 here, and I start class at 8 am tomorrow, so I believe I will head to bed for now. But just to keep you on the edge of your seat, there is much more to come shortly! Hope everyone had a great Easter weekend, next blog soon!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb