Much Needed Update!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, it's been awhile but I know I need to do this!

After realizing it was only 1 pm leaving the internet cafe in Dublin, I decided I had to do something good with the rest of my day in order to beat jet lag. So I asked the lady working at the front desk how long of a trip it would be to Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland, and then proceeded to the bus station to take a Bus éireann coach, the cheapest and easiest way to get around everywhere in the Emerald Isle, unless of course, you hitchhike, which isnt that bad of an idea because Ireland is pretty safe, I assure you! So I took the 20 euro bus to Limerick, it seemed like an interesting idea to explore Frank and Malachy Mccourt's hometown. In fact, it was lovely, a lot smaller and less crowded than Dublin, and it gave me a nice view of the countryside along the way. Unfortunately, I still hadn't been able to check in at this time, so my explorations around Limerick were a little inhibited by the fact that I was dragging my 50 pound suitcase along with me.


After arriving back in Dublin, I finally felt the force of jet lag and had to go crash. Unfortunately, the time difference really screwed me up and I ended up waking up at 5 am the next morning, completely unable to sleep. So then I proceeded to try to find something to feed my starving self, at such an UnGodly hour. Nothing was open, so I was left walking the nippy length of O'Connell street until Burger Kind opened at 7 am. At 630, the doors opened but the grumpy counter guy informed me they were not actually open until 7. Bollocks! After having to wait another 30 minutes, I found an open Tesco and decided to settle on a lemon lime water and the hottie working there until Burger King opened. Oh how I loooooove Irish men!

For the rest of the day, I just mostly explored Dublin by walking around everywhere all day. By all day, I mean for about twelve hours straight give or take. I saw a bunch of cathedrals, one of which I attended mass at, and there were signs everywhere to vote no for Lisbon treaty. The weather was still nippy and gray, but it was nice because walking around was a little exhausting. After figuring out that I had no clue where I was around 5, I decided to take the bus back to City Centre, where I got lost again for about another hour? It felt so nice to crash that night! I think I woke up around 10 or 11, changed my clothes and then decided to go out Temple Bar, solo because no one in my room was keen on the idea of going with me. After finding a serious lack of hotties and a strange lack of desire to get crunk, I hiked it back to the hostel and went to see who was lurking in the basement.

I actually found an interesting crowd of Brits, a group of guys and girls, and not surprisingly, the guys were a little trashed and the girls sober. It turned out, in fact, that I was actually in the same room with the girls, all three big field hockey fanatics and a little crazy, my kind of thing. We didn't go out, but it was a nice night in, acquainting myself with London and Englandspeak.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb