London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
December 4th 2007
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Molly and meMolly and meMolly and me

She took this photo, and I took it from her facebook, but I just love it, so I had to put it up. We were at Buckingham Palace.
So, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s less important for me to give a detailed update of all the places I’ve gone and things I’ve seen than it is to just put something up and, most importantly, let the pictures tell the story.


Last weekend I went to London, and it was fantastic. I visited friends from Macalester, staying with my friend Molly, and sightseeing with her on Saturday. Friday night I went to Harrod’s and walked around for two hours by myself listening to The Postal Service and keeping myself entertained while Molly was at work. I found my way back to her apartment in the cold rain and entertained myself with episodes of The Office. We got to the Apollo Victoria Theatre for Wicked tickets, which went on sale at 10am, at 9:15. We had a lovely chat in line, trying to keep warm. The tickets were twenty five pounds each, and we got front row seats, on the aisle of the right section of the theatre. After we got our tickets we had a vegetarian English breakfast, which was delicious. We then wandered around to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Green Park, etc. It was a
Buckingham PalaceBuckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace

We happened to be there during the changing of the guards.
beautiful day, a little cold, but very clear. Wicked was at 2:30 and it was beyond words phenomenal. I can’t begin to describe how overwhelmed I felt. I don’t know if it was because I knew almost all the words to every song and had never seen the play before, or because it really is just that moving. I know Molly loved it too though. After the play we met up with Jake (whom I also met up with in Rome). The three of us trooped around from Trafalgar Square to the Tate Museum where we met up with two other Mac students. We five made our way to some stands down the river with some German food, and progressed to a few pubs. We were joined shortly by Ellen, my future housemate. It was nice getting to know Ellen briefly, as we had only met once before, and I’ll be living with her next semester. The six of us went to a few pubs, and got some food at a fish and chips fast food type of restaurant in between. It was a wonderful evening. I headed back to Perugia Sunday morning.


That weekend was once again
Green Park?Green Park?Green Park?

I think that's where this is . . .
one that made me appreciate how incredible this semester has been, and how lucky I am to have these experiences. While walking along the Thames with Jake and Molly I held my hands out and exclaimed how incredible it was to just be there. Being in incredible places is one thing, but to be there with people you know, people who have some sort of shared history with you, must certainly be one of life’s greatest pleasures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

WICKEDWICKED
WICKED

One of the best shows I've ever seen, and probably ever will see.
Big Ben, London EyeBig Ben, London Eye
Big Ben, London Eye

We walked past this on our way to Trafalgar Square to meet Jake.
Me, Jake, and MollyMe, Jake, and Molly
Me, Jake, and Molly

Trafalgar Square!
London BridgeLondon Bridge
London Bridge

The bridge was going up for a boat to go underneath, and the lights were gorgeous.
Mac meet up in London!Mac meet up in London!
Mac meet up in London!

The Macalester students I spent Saturday night with in London. It was a great night.


4th December 2007

I love London!
London is one of my most favorite places in the whole world and I'm glad you find it magical also. I felt I had lived there at one time; it seemed like home! You have had the most amazing experiences; how great is that! Love, GJ

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb