I heart London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 17th 2005
Published: September 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wellll

I havent updated because i have too much to say, and I don't have time to write it all down. In fact, I've been quite sick but just too busy and excited to feel it or even care.

Lets just go through the interesting things.

Thursday we left for London and went to see pericles at the Globe Theatre. It was awesommeee. Although it wasn't the traditional performance, it was still very good. The whole atmosphere was sooo cool. It was mainly kids my age from everywhere that just wanteed to hear some Shakespeare. Everyone was leaning on the stage and drawn in like the couldn't get close enough to the action. I had seats in the gallery, but I stood in the yard closer to the stage because that's the way it should be experienced. It was like one of the best feelings I've ever had to have everyone around me just as immersed and saturated with the deasire to hear and see the play. At LSU, most of the people, even in my English classes, don't appreciate literature or performance literatur. So I've always felt kind of as if there was no one else to really understand...but here, people are just as crazy as I am.

Then Friday, we went to Buckingham, Westminster, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussaud's, and saw the Tower of London but didn't have time to go in. It was such a blast. I just can't explain how much there is to do in London....we didn't even scratch the surface. We were walking from Victoria to Buckingham and just happened to walk right into the changing of the guards, which was cool but too crowded. Then, we walked to Westminster via St. James' Park. Westminster is so beautiful. I love gothic architecture....the intricacy of everything from the ceiling to the pews and the spires reaching into the sky. It's beautiful! The highlight of my whole trip to London happened at Westminster. I was walking along the nave looking at tombs of people and sculptures then turned into the right transept. I've been to the four great cathedrals of Rome, the Duomo in Florence, and San Marco in Venice. Nothing can beat the visual art there. However, what I saw in that transept made my knees buckle. Keats, Shelley, Coleridge, Johnson, Wordsworth, all the Brontes, Jane Austen, Burns, Auden, Hardy, Browning, Tennyson, Byron, Dryden, Eliot, Charles Dickens!!!! Right then I just sat down and stared for a good 10 minutes. I don't think I spoke a word of sense for an hour. The rest of the day was kind of a blur, but was also a blast. At night we went to eat at a posh Italian restaurant, and I drank alot of good wine. it's hard to find good wine in England.

I have a new love folks. And it is London. I vow to go there every weekend that I am in this country, and become a faux Londoner....wearing London Fog coats and cashmere scarves and taking the underground and finding obscure places. My dad's friend owns a company in Paris which is sponsoring an art exhibition at the Tate when my parents come. He invited me to go. So I am really excited about that. Hopefully by the time my visitors get here, I will know London like the back of my hand.

Anyway. Today I went to the Beach in Brighton and finally felt sun on my skin...wonderful. Then I ate fish and chips at Harry Ramsden's....ooo man it was sooo good. I love that they put vinegar on the chips. Soooo now I HAVE to do something for school. Or maybe I will get a pint and then do something for school?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.64s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb