Elle n'aime pas les tomates!.....a rant


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 28th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am currently in Paris. My mind and body is completely exhausted....no, not from running around to places and speaking a different language. It is from these two women that I feel like I have been dragging all over with me and pushing through metro stops and telling waiters that they dont want tomatoes on their food and trying to explain the way to say the word "merci."

The only peace I find is when I drop them off at some gift-shop-concentrated areas where the unbrellas depicting Monet's garden and Eiffel Tower shaped wine bottles are abundant.... a.k.a old lady paradise! Then I go off on my own. I have been around the Sorbonne and Latin Quarter in the afternoon twice now, and I think it's my favourite spot. Sitting in cafes writing or wandering around "achat et vend" stores is a new hobbie. It sure beats the hell out getting stares from strangers who think I like to harass aged women.

Speaking of white all natural pistachio nuts, what absolutely kills me are these stupid people that go to the Louvre, walk right passed the Davids and Delacroix and even Carvaggios, and run to the Mona Lisa, Winged Victory and Venus. This mad dash to try to sneak a picture of the Mona Lisa (as if there aren't already a trillion reproductions) is followed by a b-line to the gift shop where crappy placemats and pens are bought. Why in the world would you get all the way to Paris and pay to get in the Louvre for that? One day all this latent anger is going to come out, and I am going to just yell like the people in free speech alley do about the Bible.

That was it. I wish I could find it in me to write about the things that are very cool in Paris because there are definitely a ton of them. Paris is awesome, but the situation is tedious. England is a new home, and I miss that one on top of my real one.

I am sorry if you've read this far, but if you have, I miss everyone at home and cannot wait to sit around and watch Reno or go to Champs again. It's late and the Loire Valley awaits tom.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb